Johnson Family Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is a great recipe, although I recommend doubling the filling. They would probably be a bit bland without the extra. I use "the perfect cinnamon roll icing" by Cara M. on top. I have brought them to parties and made them for my family; the are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have made these several times in my bread machine. I dough recipe is very good. To makae the filling better double it and use brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
These rolls have an excelent flavor which is why I gave them 3 stars. However, when I removed the pan from the bread machine, I had a batter not dough. It took almost another cup of flour before it could be madeinto cinnamon rolls. They could use more cinnamon sugar in them as they were slighty dry and not gooey. I will try these again using more than 3 cups of flour and hope they are more doughy and not batter again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This was a fair recipe, somewhat bland, but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Littlefield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Not very good, not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
These are wonderful! Also made them using 1/2 cup peanut-butter for the filling. Made them for a slumber party (checked no one had allergies). Topped with icing. They were a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Wow! These were awesome. Followed suggestion of other reviewers and doubled the filling. These were a-m-a-z-i-n-g. Took a long time to make, but totally worth it! Leftover rolls reheated nicely....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls as a fun weekend baking project with my son. I proofed the yeast with the warm water and the sugar for ten minutes in the mixer bowl, then added the vegetable oil, flour, dry milk powder (I used dry BUTTERMILK powder) and salt. We did need a little more flour than what was called for. We kneaded the dough with the bread hook for about five minutes, then set the dough to rise for an hour or so on a warm heating pad. I rolled out the dough and my son mixed the softened butter together with the sugar and cinnamon and spread it on the rolled out dough (it was just easier for him to do it that way). We sliced them up and set them in a baking pan, covered them with foil and set them in the fridge to set overnight. We'll update our review once we bake them in the morning. EDITED: I took them out of the fridge this morning and set them on a warm baking sheet to finish out the second rise. 400* for about 15 minutes and we were in business. I used Cinnamon Roll Icing to drizzle over the top, which is also on this site. These were okay, but not our favorite. It didn't seem to have enough of the cinnamon sugar filling and these seemed a little on the dry side, even with icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmikmik
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Fabulous. Easy. Delicious!! Have made it with different butter and cream cheese icings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmikmik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These are absolutely fabulous! I made them exactly as the recipe reads, and I have had requests from family and friends over and over again for them! I used my bread machine to make the dough, and placed the ingredients into the bread machine in the exact order listed in this recipe and it works great! I wanted some smaller rolls to take to work to share, so today I followed the recipe to a tee, but after I rolled the dough out and put the butter and cinnamon suger on, I used a pizza cutter to cut the whole thing in half lenghthwise. Then I rolled the two halves up separately, and cut each one into twelve pieces, giving me 24 "mini-rolls". I have them in the oven now, but am watching them to see if I need to reduce the cooking time by a couple of minutes for the smaller rolls. Worked beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States