John's Tasty German Cherry Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I did try this recipie when I was also in Germany and it does remove the normal taste of the beer reguardless of who made the beer. In Germany the beer is stronger and the taste is stronger, and this removes the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
this was a hit the last two parties.I also put 2 freah cherrys in each beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREHOUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Seneca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I guess I just love my beer naked because this didn't really do anything for me. A couple of my guest thought it was pretty good, but too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
oops, i misread this recipe (not unusual for me!) and put in half a 12oz bottle of beer with 1/2 c of cherry juice. i'm not a beer lover and i'm desperately searching for recipes with beer bc we have 3 cases or some other crazy number of cases in the house--and we're not beer drinkers! i don't know how to get rid of all the beer we have, so i thought i'd give this a shot. it does remove some of the taste of the beer, but i can still taste a small bit of it, so 1/2 c of cherry juice to one bottle of beer wouldn't do it for me, but this is fine. kind of tastes like seltzer water with a hint of cherry. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I am from Germany and did not care that much for this one! Back home we use not just any beer to make this kind of drink. We use Hefeweizen! Can also be made with banana juice or Coke!!! 'Banane Weizen or Cola Weizen' Coke and Sprite (lemon soda) are the only things we would add to a normal beer like pilsner or export. Coke makes it a "Dirty Beer-Dreckiges" and mixed with Sprite it is called "Radler" In Germany, Beer is SERIOUS BUSINESS :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HPlacanico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babenhausen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Three Rivers, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I drink this often - but when I can't find cherry juice - I have found that diet cherry pepsi and beer are FANTASTIC together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I JUST tried this with a bottle of Miller Lite and 1/2 cup of cherry juice from some homemade canned cherries (dark, rich juice). It really does cut down the beer flavor/ kick part. I think a 1/4 cup more of cherry juice could give it a more sweeter cherry flavor, but then again, I like sweet! Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Another thing we had when we were in Germany - Kinderbeer. Wonderful. You can use a good shot of Roses Lime Juice or any Lemon Lime Soda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
As a serious German beer drinker, this should only be done with a Heffeweitzen. Then it is delicious on the patio on a warm summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Half and Half Cocktail

See how to make a black and tan-colored beer cocktail.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States