John's Flammekueche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This is an awesome recipe. I am a vegan so I changed the cream to non-dairy sour cream. I used thawed pizza dough instead of french bread dough (because it was all I had). I sliced the onion very thin and didn't chop. I used soy margarine and Bac-o's (which are vegan). My husband flipped over this one! He's not vegan and he thought it was scrumptious! I was a little scared of this recipe at first, but it was so easy and delicious. Beware though, it is very rich! I'll definitely be making this often! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Spot on. Just like we enjoyed in the Alsace region. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Recipe just didn't cut the muster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
The taste was great, but I also had the problem with the sauce being way too thin. It made the dough so soggy that when I tried to get it off the sheet, everything fell apart. I will give this receipe another try, but next time I will reduce the sauce to 2/3 cup and put the ingredients on the dough first and then cover it with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I thought the taste was good, but I messed up somewhere. The melted butter, onions, and light cream mixture was so watery, it didn't "spread" on my rolled out dough, it ran off onto the baking sheet. My bacon boiled in the water with the potatoes, but stayed "boiled" and flemsy and not crispy, even after being in the oven. I think next time I will not use the potatoes and use cheese. Also, the butter/cream mixture needs to be thickened somehow. But, the taste was really good! It's very different! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
been lookin for this my friend went to paris (alsace)she brought back a pamphlet that said ingredients wre mix of cream soft white cheese seasoned and topped with onion and bacon this recipe has no cheese most of the pictures you see look like they have cheese think I'll try some soft fresh mozzerella one picture showed mushroom,bacon ,swiss cheese can"t wait to try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
It was pretty good, but did require some tweaking. For the sauce, I only used 2/3 cup cream, but added some garlic powder, onion powder, and chives to add some more flavour. I also added about 2 tablespoons flour and heated it so it thickened and became almost a white sauce. I also used 2 potatoes as 1 didn't seem like enough. I also doubled or almost tripled the amount of bacon, and cooked it regularly in a pan as boiling it made it soggy. I also added shredded cheddar cheese on top (cheese makes everything better!). Overall it was a very good recipe, very tasty and original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Everyone love it even my kids! It also reheats great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stormy Gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
My husband made this and it came out a bit under cooked and messy. Can't say if it was the cook or the recipe to blame, but the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
These are the best I have tasted. I am a veggie too. Used soy bacon and sour cream. Fabulous. Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States