John's Crabby Caps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
We loved these! I did cut back the parmesan to 1/2 cup and used 1/4 cup lite mayo to reduce calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Easy & just as tasty as Carrabba's mushroom appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I must've done something wrong because these had a bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Diana
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I diverted from this recipe some... Customized it to my liking. I used Parmesan cheese, and smoked pepper jack, no Italian seasoning, sherry, or chili powder, I used a couple of teaspoons of hot sauce instead. The way the ingredients collaborated just tasted so divine! I will try to make the next batch like John posted it just to see if I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I made these for a man on the fence and they pulled him over to my side. He said they were even better the next day. I don't care for mushrooms myself, but I'll cook anything to keep him happy! This will ultimately become my "I might need forgiveness" recipe! The only thing I added was to cut up the stems and add them in with the garlic and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
These are awesome!!! I agree they are a bit salty, but the second time I made them, I did not add any salt. I used a combo of grated parm and freshly grated pecorino. I like the taste of marsala with my stuffed mushrooms so I used a little marsala with the sherry (2 parts sherry to 1 part marsala). I also drizzled a little marsala over each stuffed mushroom and topped with freshly grated pecorino before baking. I served these a at a football party and they were a crowd favorite. Definitely a staple for all my parties now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Made these and dusted them with crabbyjohns seasoning. great resipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Added in some Mozzarella cheese. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
These were just okay. I couldn't find my original crab stuffed mushrooms so I thought I would try these. They are very salty! Here are the changes I made: I added the sherry into the mixture as suggested by other reviewers. I will suggest to probably not put the full amount in (as I did) as I think this contributed to the saltiness. I also added an extra clove of garlic and chopped up a few of the mushroom stems and sauted them with the garlic. After they baked, I topped them with provolone cheese and broiled them. The provolone made these much more enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
this recipe was easy and awesome!!! just added an egg to stuffing mixture to hold it all together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States