John's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This was delicious. Substituted jalapeno's for the serrano peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Friends said this was the best chili they had ever eaten. I did make some changes, I browned the meats together then drained and added other ingrediants. I added alot more cumin and chili powder. I didn't add the beer or tequila as that's just not something I have readily available in my cupboard but I think I will try to have on hand next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was OK...needs a bit more spunk though. The scandinavian eaters loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was a good chili, but you definitely have to add more chili powder and cumin . . . I also added some tobasco and extra chilis - there was virtually no heat. Also, it probably only needs about 2 - 2.5 hours of simmering with the lid on . . . I simmered mine for 3 hours and it lost most of the juice. I can't imagine how dry it would be after 5 hours! Not bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Very good recipe. I have a wonderful recipe already but wanted to try something new. Was a nice change of pace! I did alter a little thou... I added a decent amount of Franks Red Hot. Also added 1 Habenero 1 Red Chili in addition to the current pepper order. WIth the meats I also did seperatly. My sausage weight was around 2.5lbs and 2lbs of beef. sausage i removed the skin and pan fried then ran through the food processor for a more even texture. I boiled the beef and ran through the food processor as well. Only other thing was more chili pepper was needed in my opinion but the recipe is a good starting area :) like any recipe season to taste. Hope you all enjoy this recipe as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
This needed work. As is; it's basically a tomato based soup. Very sweet. Had to triple (or more)the chili powder and cumin to get it to taste like "chili". I am from Texas and having a few Chili cook-offs under my belt, this is nothing like the chili's that are indicative of the region. I did like the beer in it and will probably work that into my favorite Chili recipe, but I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Fantastic, made this for the first time about a month ago. It went over so well It will be the center of attention for my super bowl party. I will go a little easy on the heat, If you like it real hot you can always add later. The only thing I did different was brown the meats in a seperate sauce pan drain off then add to veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Amazing chili!! I used turkey sausage instead of pork and cut the serrranos down because I was serving this to kids as well as adults. Everyone including my fellow Texans thought it was superb. Will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Neuberg-Ravolzhausen, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
excellent chili. the great smells in the kitchen made everyone hungry. i added a little extreme-hot-sauce and it was a total success. i served with some rolls and some thinly grated chedder. i'm going to make this on more than one football weekend this fall/winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States