Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Thanks Johnny! We made this to rub on a full size pork loin for our sons first birthday party. We wanted something different to impress the family and friends at the party, and this sure did! We did make one change since we had no oregano we used Mrs. Dash garlic and herb seasoning. This recipe was so delicious it gave the pork the perfect flavor. We will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZGrebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I thought it was too spicy; my husband loved it. I did add oil so the rub would stick to the meat, and that may be why it was so spicy. I am going to use it again because it has a great flavor, probably just reduce the amount of rub on my steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
this is awesome! you didnt even need to use bbq sauce in addition to this rub. the 2nd time around we did brush on a bbq sauce during the last 10 mins and it was really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Great flavor. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Rub added a great flavor to the meat, will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Absolutely awesome rub. I've used it on pork and beef and put them in the smoker... yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Excellent rub that hubby used on a pork butt in his smoker. Worked just as wonderfully on a brisket. Thanks Johnny!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Excellent on pork chops! I've used it on chicken, steak, and pork, it's best on pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Combine with Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ Sauce and it's the best I've had. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This rub was so flavorful.....I put the rub on a pork butt that I let marinate in the rub overnight in the fridge. Next morning I placed it in the crockpot on low for about 9 hours, shredded up the meat(which just fell apart beautifully)and added about 3/4 bottle of KC Masterpiece, served on potato rolls. Family loved it....sorry I didn't make your sauce, pressed for time.....but the rub was outstanding and will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States