Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Loved this! Used it on pork chops last night and rubbed some on a steak that is going on the grill tonight. Great combo of flavors-and all things I had on hand already. Also liked that it made enough for several servings..........cause we are definitely gonna be using this a lot this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
DELICIOUS!!! Made as is, the recipe is awesome. Add 1 Tablespoon of Onion Powder to it and it's PERFECT. I kept all of the other measurements the same except I cut the black pepper down to 1 Tablespoon or my kids would think it was too spicy. I can't understand why everyone was cutting back on the cumin, I thought 1 Tablespoon was perfect and didn't overwhelm the flavors at all, even before I added in the Onion Powder. Can't wait to try this on chicken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Meh.... Chili powder overwhelms all the other spices. I won't use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Nice, but nothing special until I added 2T Old Bay Seasoning. That supplied the missing ZIP. My husband raves about this recipe now, and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This rub was excellent, my guy and I loved it. We used it on steaks, let the rub sit about 2 hours then grilled them up. Being the first time I was using it, I did take the recommendations from other reviewers and cut the cumin to 1/2 a tablespoon. It is a great flavor with just the right amount of heat, do not let the strong smell fool you (not the burn your tongue so you cannot taste other things heat). Where we enjoy spicy things I actually may add a bit more heat next time, and try the original measurement of cumin. We will definitely be using this again! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
wow.. just wow.. we used this on tri tip.. i ran out of paprika half way through so i used cayenne for the rest (we love spicy).. very food-gasmic.. we also grilled some corn on the cob.. cut the kernels off added a few shakes of the rub and some sour cream.. mmmmmm! ty for such a versatile rub
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Used it on tri-tip. Pretty good. I just reduced the spice level since my toddlers were eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Not bad, but nothing special. The family wasn't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I thought this looked like a good recipe for a rub. I guess I must have put way too much on the meat. It was overpowering. My husband liked it, so I gave it 3 stars. I probably will not make it again as I did not care for it....Back to the search...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weaselsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Delicious. I omitted the cumin because I don't like it, but I certainly didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States