Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This is probably my favorite homemade seasoning blend to make. I even use it on vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Springchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This rocks as an all-purpose seasoning, as well as a rib rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaponE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Mckinleyville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Well, I'm impressed. I used this on country style beef boneless "ribs". I had my husband grill the meat for about 16 minutes and then served bottled bbq sauce (KC Masterpiece original) on the side. This rub was perfect for the sauce, the flavors went together nicely. This was very very good. My teen complained "too much paprika". I'd used Hungarian paprika instead, maybe that made a difference? I wouldn't change a thing. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks Johnny! UPDATE 07/10/2011: Excellent rub! I found this hidden in a ziplock baggie in my pantry and used it for a brisket rub that DH hickory smoked for several hours. This made the best barbecue in all of south Texas! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I was very hesitant about this recipe because I was missing mustard powder, chili powder, brown sugar and paprika. I used 1 tsp of cayenne to substitue for the heat of the chili powder and paprika and was afraid it would be too hot. I basted in mustard to sub for the powder and it helped the seasoning to stick, and I just used white sugar instead of brown. To my surprise, I got fantastic reviews. If this was good missing those ingredients, I'm assuming it'd be good when done correctly. I have to give it 5 stars for the praise it got me! The smoky cumin taste was a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is absolutely the best rub I have ever made myself. I doubled the recipe and use it on every meat I cook. Not just for grilled meats, I use it on all meats, baked, fried, etc. The only thing I will do different next time is cut the salt back slightly so I can sprinkle it liberally. This stuff is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Theres a reason this rub is so highly rated! Its so easy but so good. I didnt have any paprika and added a touch more chili powder. It was very good but very spicy. I chose to use this on cubes of meat about 1.5in each. Dipped them directly in the rub and made a great side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
We Loved it! What a nice alternative to a maranade! It tasted just like a steak at a good steakhouse! And I didn't even have any cumin, and accidentaly put in 1/2 tbsp of oregano instead of 1/2 tsp! Oops! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Works well on moose tritip marinated for two days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flyrod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was good, wasn't anything "out of the ordinary" but was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I love this stuff!! I always have some on hand. I cut down on the cumin and chili powder as the kids prefer a little less spice. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EVEELANE

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States