Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is a very good barbeque rub with room to modify the amount of spiciness or sweetness to suit your tastes. First, I scaled this down a quite a bit to serve for only two people plus, I did not want to make a whole lot not knowing whether or not my family would like this or not. They generally do not like anything remotely spicy. So what I did was add a little more brown sugar and went real light on the cumin, paprika, black pepper, and omitted the chili powder. I used this for a shrimp dish. This ended in a happy surprise for me as my family actually liked the blend of the seasonings. I was pleased that this worked out since I was hesistant when measuring the ingredients. As for me, I like the flavors, thou, I would and could have used some "more" spiciness to the rub. I am more delighted that I finally found a bbq rub that the whole family can embrace and enjoy over meats, seafood, etc. Thank you Johnny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I mixed this up just as directed and was so pleased with it I'd do so again in a heartbeat. This is an absolutely outstanding all-purpose spice blend that will do anything you use it on a favor. I used it tonight on "Bacon Wrapped Barbecue Shrimp," recipe also from this site, but I won't hesitate to use it on just about anything. This was truly excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Absolutely delicious on steak! (Spicy and Tasty)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I cut back on the salt and pepper a bit and increased the oregano a bit. We were supposed to grill chicken today but my husband is late today so I had to come up with a substitute. I tossed this rub in a cup of flour and coated my chicken legs in it, then fried it in hot vegetable oil, then baked it to finish it off and crisp it up a bit. HUGE hit, especially with my two boys. My youngest boy ate two chicken legs, which is huge for this kid who's pickier than any other kid I know. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I took the advice of some others and cut the cumin way down. I think I used like 1/2 tsp. I did the same with the chili powder. My kids don't like spicy food. I also doubled the brown sugar. I cooked half the meat in the oven on low heat and half on the BBQ. They both were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was so good. I loved it. But my kids and husband thought it was too spicy. Next time I will cut down on the cumin. But otherwise, super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I've used this for years and still love it! I usually cut the black pepper to 1 Tablespoon and increase the Garlic to 2 Tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
smoked a pork roast with this as the rub and it turned out great. My husband is now bragging about his cooking abilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was great. Just a little spicy, we put this on tri tip and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I mixed this up and rubbed it on a rack of baby back ribs. Then I left it sit in the refrigerator, covered with plastic wrap for about 4 or 5 hours. Then I made the ribs. I thought this was excellent. My husband on the other hand, thought that it was too spicy. I also liked the idea of it making twice as much so you could save half or give half away for somebody else to try. I loved this recipe, and I am saving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States