Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Very tasty! A great addition to my BBQ~ Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Axman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I have used this recipe in BBQ competitions several times -- have placed several times. It is most excellent, simple and easy to make up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Really good. I cut the serving size by half of that listed but ended up doubling the brown sugar . . . just because it sort of smelled strong, like I needed a little more sweet [what's an extra tablespoon of brown sugar anyway?]. I rubbed the mixture over a pork tenderloin and kept it refrigerated overnight. Next day we grilled it and at the end of the grilling time mopped it with Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory and Brown Sugar bbq sauce. It was probably the best pork tenderloin we've had and we're sort of picky. Add to this, my husband is expert at knowing just how long to get a sear on the hot side of the coals and when to transfer the meat to the indirect side which makes for an incredible juicy cut of meat. Try this rub -- I had extra and will definitely try on other cuts of meat. Cheers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Great rub! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Not sure if I rated this before, but I have to say that I have been using this "grub rub" recipe for years now, and it is my favorite dry rub! Great for steak, chicken, everything! Thank you, Johnny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Very good dry rub! I used it for my london broil and grilled it....awesome base. For the paprika, i used half smoked paprika and half regular paprika. I had let the rub sit on the meat for an hour and I can smell the strong cumin but after grilling, I didn't find it overwhelming at all...everything blended very well....thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Used this for a roasted chicken! very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
We have already used this a few times and I really love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
A great all-around dry rub. Can be adjusted to suit your tastes. Like others, I reduced the cumin -and left everything else the same. Next time, might cut back on the black pepper, too. Would make great little hostess gifts - put in a small glass jar with a 'Grub Rub' label. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States