Johnny's Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
As written, this is a great staple recipe. I've used this recipe many times now and have made small tweaks to make it a 5 star recipe. TIP: add a little more shortening to make them fluffier. Not too much, maybe a tablespoon. You can cut down on some of the butter if you don't like the idea of extra shortening and butter. Or you can only use shortening (4 tbs) and no butter. Don't soften the butter. It should be very cold. It will take a bit to cut it into the flour so that the lumps are pea-sized, but cold butter is better than softened. Don't let the recipe fool you about the dough being very wet. Don't go crazy with the milk. Also, for those who used milk instead of buttermilk and found the biscuits to be heavy - it's because of the baking soda. Substitute with baking powder and you'll find them lighter and better tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Thank you to the person that posted this!! I have tried SO many biscuit recipes with no luck....until this one. This recipe is easy and the biscuits were so light and tasty. My husband was hiding them from my daughter so he could eat them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Best biscuits ever!!! I make them all the time and follow recipe. They always turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Rica, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Recipe to keep, The substitution help allowed me to whip this up and boy was I surprised how yummy they were. A must try,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
My family loves these biscuits. I make them all the time. I make them exactly as the recipe says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I have been making these biscuits for the past to years. I refuse to try another recipe because they are so good. They come out light and fluffy and the kids love them. I have gotten my co-workers hooked on these as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Yummmmmy. best and easiest biscuits I have ever had the pleasure to devour. As did the rest of the family, grand kids included. since discovering this recipe @ easter-time, it has been my go to recipe. It is wonderful as is, but you can change up the herb& or spices, add cheese, or bacon bits.. possibilities are endless. Thanks for Posting.. Off to make a batch for the chicken biscuit pot pie.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammaluvscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Excellent, excellent, excellent. These biscuits are the first I've ever made that are superb. I made some for my 84 year old neighbor and his wife also, and he complained about them. When I asked what was wrong, he said "you didn't give me enough of them". Needless to say, I send some their way every time I make them now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Delightfully crunchy on the outside and fluffy on the inside...Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
These biscuits are fantastic! Adjust the servings to 12 for a 12-inch skillet. They go well with everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States