Johnny's Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Piques
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
So good. So very, very good. Just, plain perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
For some reason, my biscuit dough was so soft that I could not keep it together to form a biscuit. I added a little more flour, let it rest again, and then made them. I also put butter in my iron skillet and preheated the skillet in the oven. (Remember not to touch hot iron skillet with bare hands--ouch!) I placed the biscuits in the hot skillet and baked for 16 minutes. They were slightly crisp on the outside, but light and fluffy on the inside--just like we like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
these did not turn out like the pictures.....kinda flat and heavy. BUT the family devoured them up! so might have to work on them a little more, because they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caness67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
With this recipe I now make biscuits as good as Grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen Nicholson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is a regular item for me now. They're crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tam
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Love these biscuits, best I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I think it uses to much fat. It uses butter,buttermilk,Shortening and Sugar! I think it is not very heathy! but i will try it! I will see how much pounds i get ontop of my belly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Anyone who says these didn't come out well just didn't follow the recipe. These are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This recipe was easy but not sure what "very wet" meant. I thought it was too wet. I did have to substitute buttermilk with milk/vinegar combo. I thought this is why it came out way too runny. So, I added a bit more flour. Biscuits did have great texture and flavor. I do plan to stick to original recipe next time. Will keep this one as favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Great biscuits! I like them in a iron skillet so I put them on the BBQ while cooking dinner and it's done in 16-20 minutes! I used whole wheat pastry flour ... I forgot the butter on top but they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States