Johnny's Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
Messy! But the biscuits were delicious. Very light and fluffy. I used a cake pan instead of a cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2000
Superior! They melt in your mouth! Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This is the perfect fluffy biscuit recipe. Use buttermilk, don't try to substitute (most cooks know that buttermilk and regular milk are not interchangeable), because the extra moisture really matters with these. Yummy with butter and honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Outstanding biscuits. Exactly what I've been looking for the past 10 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
These biscuits came in handy when a friend who is allergic to eggs was coming to visit. I was surprised to find that they were positively delicious. Light and fluffy and a unique taste. We all raved about them. I also substituted whole milk and vinegar. 1 T of vinegar in the milk and let it sit until it starts to thicken. Yum. I went out and BOUGHT a cast iron pan so that I can make them again the genuine way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Very good! Though these are not the layered kind of biscuit. Still, very tender and I love they way they mix up so easily. No rolling, cutting, rerolling which toughens the biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
The best biscuts I have ever made or eaten. Hands down. I cooked bacon and onions earlier that day in my cast iron skillet. I drained out all of the left over greese so there was only a very thin layer of fat on the bottom and used that instead of butter or spray. It really complimented the flavor. This biscuit is so good it does not even need butter! I would give it ten stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Followed the recipe as written and these were great. My only problem was that I should have made 2 batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
These were the most amazing biscuits I have ever made. I have been looking for the recipe that was close to KFC biscuits and this beats them. I love that they are baked in a cast iron pan. My husband loved them and that is who I am cooking to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAYGIRLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. John, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This was a very easy recipe to follow. I did have to make my own self-rising flour and buttermilk as I did not have these on hand. I was very skeptical about how these would turn out when I seen how wet the batter was. But they turned out perfectly. Great with sausage gravy! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States