Johnny's Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2000
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I did'nt have buttermilk so I made someusing milk and vinegar. My husband loved them but I thought the vinegar gave them a funny twang. The next time I made them I used plain milk. I still got rave reviews, but still not perfect. I think that I put in too much baking soda. I calls for only an eighth of a teaspoon. I did'nt have that size so I just put in half of a fourth teaspoon. It makes them rise, and impresses all my family an friends, but I'm going after that good fluffy buscuit that is also a little chewy. If you put in too much soda they get a little too cakey. Next time I make them, I am going to get the buttermilk, make sure I only use 1/8 tsp soda, and I'm sure they will be great. They really were easy to make. My husband sd they tasted just like his Mom used to make, and my BIL said they were the best biscuits he ever ate. Granted those two would eat paint off table legs, it was good eough for me. Aunt Pitter Pat from PB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
These biscuits came in handy when a friend who is allergic to eggs was coming to visit. I was surprised to find that they were positively delicious. Light and fluffy and a unique taste. We all raved about them. I also substituted whole milk and vinegar. 1 T of vinegar in the milk and let it sit until it starts to thicken. Yum. I went out and BOUGHT a cast iron pan so that I can make them again the genuine way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
AWESOME!!! This is my new and now "one and only" go to recipe for biscuits with sausage gravy! This recipe was very quick to prepare and the biscuits were not dense but delicate and light. These tasted so good! I've tried many other recipes from this site and for me this is the "one"! I used these biscuits with Bill's Sausage Gravy recipe. NO leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2000
Superior! They melt in your mouth! Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Outstanding biscuits. Exactly what I've been looking for the past 10 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This is the perfect fluffy biscuit recipe. Use buttermilk, don't try to substitute (most cooks know that buttermilk and regular milk are not interchangeable), because the extra moisture really matters with these. Yummy with butter and honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
Messy! But the biscuits were delicious. Very light and fluffy. I used a cake pan instead of a cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
The best biscuts I have ever made or eaten. Hands down. I cooked bacon and onions earlier that day in my cast iron skillet. I drained out all of the left over greese so there was only a very thin layer of fat on the bottom and used that instead of butter or spray. It really complimented the flavor. This biscuit is so good it does not even need butter! I would give it ten stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
The biscuits were very heavy and rather tasteless. Not worth the mess, but I DID make them with milk instead of buttermilk, all the other directions and ingredients I used were as given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I made these last night for supper to go with some potato soup I had made from this site. The biscuits were so flaky. They just melted in your mouth. I am making them again this morning to send to a friend of ours who is sick, these and the soup will do him wonders. My husband just loved them. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States