Johnny's Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2000
Superior! They melt in your mouth! Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2000
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I did'nt have buttermilk so I made someusing milk and vinegar. My husband loved them but I thought the vinegar gave them a funny twang. The next time I made them I used plain milk. I still got rave reviews, but still not perfect. I think that I put in too much baking soda. I calls for only an eighth of a teaspoon. I did'nt have that size so I just put in half of a fourth teaspoon. It makes them rise, and impresses all my family an friends, but I'm going after that good fluffy buscuit that is also a little chewy. If you put in too much soda they get a little too cakey. Next time I make them, I am going to get the buttermilk, make sure I only use 1/8 tsp soda, and I'm sure they will be great. They really were easy to make. My husband sd they tasted just like his Mom used to make, and my BIL said they were the best biscuits he ever ate. Granted those two would eat paint off table legs, it was good eough for me. Aunt Pitter Pat from PB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
Messy! But the biscuits were delicious. Very light and fluffy. I used a cake pan instead of a cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
The biscuits were very heavy and rather tasteless. Not worth the mess, but I DID make them with milk instead of buttermilk, all the other directions and ingredients I used were as given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This is the perfect fluffy biscuit recipe. Use buttermilk, don't try to substitute (most cooks know that buttermilk and regular milk are not interchangeable), because the extra moisture really matters with these. Yummy with butter and honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
These biscuits came in handy when a friend who is allergic to eggs was coming to visit. I was surprised to find that they were positively delicious. Light and fluffy and a unique taste. We all raved about them. I also substituted whole milk and vinegar. 1 T of vinegar in the milk and let it sit until it starts to thicken. Yum. I went out and BOUGHT a cast iron pan so that I can make them again the genuine way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Outstanding biscuits. Exactly what I've been looking for the past 10 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
At first, i was not impressed. Bland. Increased butter lessen shortening. Upon purchasing a bag of fresh Bread Flour, it fluffed up. Could have been the difference in flour or the freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I had my doubts about these biscuits because of the sugar, and the final step of dipping them in flour. I've always made rolled biscuits, not drop. But these were delicious biscuits! Great recipe! I had to use margarine because I didn't have either shortening or butter, but they were still great. My new biscuit recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
These are the most moist and deliciuos biscuits I have ever put in my mouth. I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used milk and vinegar and they came out perfect. No more bisciut mixes for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States