Johnny's Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I truly love my biscuits and I do believe these are the best I've ever made. I had no buttermilk or even whole milk so I used sour cream, half and half, a spoon of vinegar and club soda to make up the buttermilk. I've never eaten a better biscuit for flavor or the softness and lightness of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
these were good indeed: nice taste and ready in a jiff! used yogurt instead of buttermilk, and a cake pan instead of iron skillet. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
AWESOME!!! This is my new and now "one and only" go to recipe for biscuits with sausage gravy! This recipe was very quick to prepare and the biscuits were not dense but delicate and light. These tasted so good! I've tried many other recipes from this site and for me this is the "one"! I used these biscuits with Bill's Sausage Gravy recipe. NO leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Very good! Though these are not the layered kind of biscuit. Still, very tender and I love they way they mix up so easily. No rolling, cutting, rerolling which toughens the biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This was a very easy recipe to follow. I did have to make my own self-rising flour and buttermilk as I did not have these on hand. I was very skeptical about how these would turn out when I seen how wet the batter was. But they turned out perfectly. Great with sausage gravy! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
These were the most amazing biscuits I have ever made. I have been looking for the recipe that was close to KFC biscuits and this beats them. I love that they are baked in a cast iron pan. My husband loved them and that is who I am cooking to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAYGIRLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. John, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Followed the recipe as written and these were great. My only problem was that I should have made 2 batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
The best biscuts I have ever made or eaten. Hands down. I cooked bacon and onions earlier that day in my cast iron skillet. I drained out all of the left over greese so there was only a very thin layer of fat on the bottom and used that instead of butter or spray. It really complimented the flavor. This biscuit is so good it does not even need butter! I would give it ten stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Great recipie, much diffrent from wwhat I am used to, but the texture and taste were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGASWILDFLOWER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
My husband never got excited about my homemade biscuits until now. The whole family loved them. Very fluffy and flavorful. Taste very much like my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States