Johnny's Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
My Iron skillet must be bigger than most because when I was done putting the biscuits in the pan I was about 2 biscuits short? They rose well but never covered the gaps entirely (No problem) These biscuits turned out light and flakey with nice brown buttery top, definately my new go-to biscuit recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pthor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I was looking for a bread-like biscuit recipe (because I procrastinated and didn't have enough rise time for rolls). This was much more bread-like than typical biscuits, with great density and visible air pockets. I didn't find the experience to be messy, either (and my 3yo even helped). I did doubt not pre-heating my cast iron, but I followed the recipe, did not pre-heat it, and they turned out great. We'll be making these again soon (which won't help my procrastinating)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This recipe speaks to my southern roots. They melt in your mouth. The bottom crusts up perfectly . YUM! A seasoned cast iron skillet allows these amazing biscuits to sing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DOUGKOJAK
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Truly one of the easiest and best biscuit recipes I've used. No lie..these were super fluffy. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOUGKOJAK

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
These biscuits are awesome,simple to make and they came out super fluffy,buttery and better than any I have ever eaten. THANKS FROM A FRUSTRATED BISCUIT MAKER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Delish! Easy to make what a good time it was for me to make them with my 5 y/o daughter, and I LOVE cooking in a good cast iron skillet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Delicious! I used the cast iron skillet but may try regular pans next time. The bottoms were a little hard, but was most likely my fault. I made them ahead of time and put the entire skillet in my refrigerator covered with damp paper towels so they wouldn't dry out. Baked them a few hours later. Still delicious just the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Good, but will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Quick and easy biscuits, I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Love this recipe! I tried a variation with the dough using a muffin tray, and actually managed to get a yummy chicken stuffing inside. I'm even going to try to use it as a decadent top crust for pot pie next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States