Johnnycakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
Served these for breakfast on a cold Scout campout, the scouts couldn't get enough and have added it to their breakfast menu for winter camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Henry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montevallo, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Brought back fond memories of my childhood. I had forgotten these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Great recipe. Nothing outstanding, but really easy and a great alternative to pancakes so it gets 5 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Made these to go with some Louisiana red beans and rice and they were great! I only had 1 1/2 cups of cornmeal, so I added 1/2 cup flour. I used goat milk instead of whole milk because that's what I had. I also added an egg and about a tablespoon of brown sugar. I didn't heat the water, and I mixed everything together all at the same time. I cooked them in a generous amount of butter. They came out fantastic and were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Added two table spoons of sugar, delicious and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chappaqua, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
i absolutely loved this recipe! i added about a half cup of brown sugar to my batter and the results were fantastic! I will definitely be making these again! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This recipe works so much better than other johnnycake recipes I have tried. The key is to get the hot water at or near boiling, and otherwise, it's pretty foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I tried these for two reasons: 1. I had all the ingredients, 2. I was curious how good this "pioneer food" would actually be. (I have made "hush puppies" in the past and wasn't too enthralled with them.) I was pleasantly surprised at how tasty these johnnycakes really were! My husband and children really loved them. I served them with soup instead of cornbread, and the family ate them all up! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I usually make cornbread to eat along with my chili, but tonight I had a few extra minutes to just check out other recipes. Being from the midwest, I haven't ever had johnnycakes. I just whipped some of these up (In a fraction of the time it used to take me to make cornbread). I added 2 tablespoons of sugar substitute, because my family likes their cornbread a little sweet. I'm never making cornbread again!!! Crisp on the outside, and slightly moist on the inside, a perfect compliment to my chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLYINGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: La Vista, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
dannnggg tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John’s Mancakes

Do Dad a flavor favor! Cornmeal pancakes with built-in bacon and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States