Johnnycakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Brought back fond memories of my childhood. I had forgotten these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
dannnggg tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
My dad used to make these when I was little. Still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
For what they are, an austere pioneer food, they are good - especially with additional butter and syrup (only pure NY maple syrup will do). However, there is a reason why this has been replaced by other cornbread variations as other ingredients and cooking methods are available now. On a hot day with no A/C I wanted to try a cornbread that did not require an oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Okay... I added an egg and used buttermilk. Cornbread "anything" just isn't cornbread without those 2 ingredients. I also added a little sugar, since we like our's sweet. I remember eating these when I was a kid. We always put syrup on them. My husband and son loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Dry, bland - could barely eat it. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
No offense to our forefathers or the submitter of this recipe, but these weren't very good. Maybe earlier generations had more productive salivary glands than I do because these were so dry that I had to drown them in syrup just to make them palatable. I felt like I had gotten a mouthful of fish fry more than once. The flavor was okay plain, like bland cornbread, but was much better with syrup. I'll keep looking for a moister recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
We didn't like it at all sorry. Way to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Very dry and very little flavor. There was no amount of maple syrup or butter that was going to save this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
My kids thought this was too heavy of a recipe for pancakes, but will use with soup instead of cornbread with honey and it should be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John’s Mancakes

Do Dad a flavor favor! Cornmeal pancakes with built-in bacon and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States