Johnnycakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I make these for my aging father who loves cornbread for every meal but is having teeth issues now. These are soft and easy for him to chew, richer and better tasting than traditional hot water cornbread and very quick. I found that if I use Coconut Oil to fry them, they don't burn before the insides get done and you can't taste any coconut at all. It's healthier too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I just made this recipe. It worked out well, but it's hard to get the texture right, so add the boiling water a bit at a time until it resembles thin porridge. I also added the simple step of soaking the cornmeal in milk for five minutes to soften it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
exactly what i was looking for! made them again two days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I made these he other night to serve with vegetable soup. They came out great and were a big hit. We ate them with butter on top and dipped in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Super dry and dense. The flavor was okay but I think it would be better with some egg and flour in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Scaccio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Good but they are plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I used watered down sour cream instead of milk and added an egg. It was good...will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I didn't care for this, it was too grainy BUT I had to use almond milk which may have been why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grunig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
came out a little dry and crunchy. next time will grind corn meal down in coffee grinder to more of a rough flour consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Made these to go with some Louisiana red beans and rice and they were great! I only had 1 1/2 cups of cornmeal, so I added 1/2 cup flour. I used goat milk instead of whole milk because that's what I had. I also added an egg and about a tablespoon of brown sugar. I didn't heat the water, and I mixed everything together all at the same time. I cooked them in a generous amount of butter. They came out fantastic and were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John’s Mancakes

Do Dad a flavor favor! Cornmeal pancakes with built-in bacon and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States