Johnnycakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
These were tough, and dry, and only edible when doused in butter and syrup. I've compared some other johnny cake recipes and it looks like they usually also include some sugar or honey, i think that would definitely improve this recipe. As written, I would not recommend this recipe, it was like eating a hockey puck made of corn. Might be a good snack for long camping trips in the wilderness though since these were definitely very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I make these for my aging father who loves cornbread for every meal but is having teeth issues now. These are soft and easy for him to chew, richer and better tasting than traditional hot water cornbread and very quick. I found that if I use Coconut Oil to fry them, they don't burn before the insides get done and you can't taste any coconut at all. It's healthier too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I just made this recipe. It worked out well, but it's hard to get the texture right, so add the boiling water a bit at a time until it resembles thin porridge. I also added the simple step of soaking the cornmeal in milk for five minutes to soften it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
exactly what i was looking for! made them again two days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I made these he other night to serve with vegetable soup. They came out great and were a big hit. We ate them with butter on top and dipped in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Super dry and dense. The flavor was okay but I think it would be better with some egg and flour in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Scaccio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Good but they are plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I used watered down sour cream instead of milk and added an egg. It was good...will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I didn't care for this, it was too grainy BUT I had to use almond milk which may have been why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grunig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
came out a little dry and crunchy. next time will grind corn meal down in coffee grinder to more of a rough flour consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States