Johnny Marzzetti with Ground Venison Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Pretty tasty and hearty meal. My kids thought this was really good (though it's pretty hard to go wrong when you've got lots off cheese, noodles, hamburger with kids involved hehe ;) I used ground beef instead of venison, which is not readily avalible where I live. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and seasoned my meat first. I used little shells instead of elbow noodles, and omitted the bell pepper since my kids don't care for the taste. All in all, this turned out great and baked very well. The best part: it's super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I tastes like hamburger helper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momma&Wifey
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
modified the recipe by using yellow pepper instead of green. I baked it for about 25 minutes at 350 and once the cheese was put on, I broiled on low to make for a crispy, brown topping. *NOTE: as with most pasta recipes, before you drain your noodles, measure out the amount of water you need later in the recipe from your noodle pot (in this recipe it was 3/4 of a cup). The starch in the water from your noodles will help the sauce come together better than if you used fresh water :) Also seasoned the meat with garlic, salt and pepper while it was browning in the skillet as well as when the sauce was done. used cavatappi noddles (seems to hold up the sauce better, penne would work well, too!), baked in the same cast iron skillet used to brown the meat in and it turned out very well. an instant keeper! loved that it can be done on a modest budget with every day pantry items!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma&Wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I have made this a couple of times now and they loved it. I did tweak it by adding fresh garlic in addition to powdered and substituting beef broth for water. I did not make the macarone my husband is a low/no carber. I just loved it along with other who tried it. They said they would know it was venison. A KEEPER:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Here is the thing about this recipe, those who claim low seasoning, you need to salt the bejezus of the pasta which will go along way to seasoning the whole dish. For those that claimed to dry, the cooking time is alot, if you figure that everything is already cooked 15 minutes in the oven is plenty. Then when you put the cheese on toss it back in the oven but turn off the heat. It is already smoking hot and will melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Always looking for a new recipe with Venison. The kids thought this was a Hamberger Skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Good basics but a bit dry as reviews stated before. I added a can of Golden Mushroom Soup with the Meat when browning. This adds the needed moisture while adding a bit more seasoning. Because of the soup I also cut a bit of the salt later in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Good supper-dish. I ,as well, added Italian spices, a dash of chili powder. I was out of diced tomatoes in the pantry so I substituted a 26 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the paste and diced tomatoes and water. Popped in the oven @ 375 for 15 mins to get the top lightly browned. Plenty hot enough off the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
As is, the recipe is about 3 stars - very bland and much to dry. I added extra water during the stovetop process, plus some extra sauce before baking. I only baked about 20-30 minutes as it was already starting to dry out. Also added mushrooms, quite a bit of italian seasoning, some fresh crushed garlic, some onion powder and some red pepper flakes to kick up the flavor. Next time I think I might also use beef broth instead of water for added flavor. With the adjustments, was nearly 5 stars! And we called it "Bambi Marzzetti." LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I don't normally enjoy venison, but this was delightful. I didn't bake this dish, but instead grated 2/3 of the cheese directly into the pasta / sauce mix. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States