Johnny Marzzetti with Ground Venison Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was a tasty dish and my boys and I enjoyed it, though we all agreed that it needed a more saucy or perhaps creamy texture. We will definitely try some additions. 1 can condensed tomato soup, 1 t worcestershire sauce. If that doesn't do it, well try cream of celery soup or maybe mix some cheese throughout. It was good, but we just want to suit it to our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
As is, the recipe is about 3 stars - very bland and much to dry. I added extra water during the stovetop process, plus some extra sauce before baking. I only baked about 20-30 minutes as it was already starting to dry out. Also added mushrooms, quite a bit of italian seasoning, some fresh crushed garlic, some onion powder and some red pepper flakes to kick up the flavor. Next time I think I might also use beef broth instead of water for added flavor. With the adjustments, was nearly 5 stars! And we called it "Bambi Marzzetti." LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Boyd Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I'm always looking for ways to use venison and this hit the spot! I pretty much followed the recipe, except I did it all on top of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was good. I'm always looking for something new to do w/ Venison and this one really worked w/ little in my pantry and needing to go shopping. I made this w/ meat, macaroni, onions, tomato sauce, diced tomatos, and condenced cheese soup. Kept it all on the stove top too. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Here is the thing about this recipe, those who claim low seasoning, you need to salt the bejezus of the pasta which will go along way to seasoning the whole dish. For those that claimed to dry, the cooking time is alot, if you figure that everything is already cooked 15 minutes in the oven is plenty. Then when you put the cheese on toss it back in the oven but turn off the heat. It is already smoking hot and will melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I don't normally enjoy venison, but this was delightful. I didn't bake this dish, but instead grated 2/3 of the cheese directly into the pasta / sauce mix. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momma&Wifey
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
modified the recipe by using yellow pepper instead of green. I baked it for about 25 minutes at 350 and once the cheese was put on, I broiled on low to make for a crispy, brown topping. *NOTE: as with most pasta recipes, before you drain your noodles, measure out the amount of water you need later in the recipe from your noodle pot (in this recipe it was 3/4 of a cup). The starch in the water from your noodles will help the sauce come together better than if you used fresh water :) Also seasoned the meat with garlic, salt and pepper while it was browning in the skillet as well as when the sauce was done. used cavatappi noddles (seems to hold up the sauce better, penne would work well, too!), baked in the same cast iron skillet used to brown the meat in and it turned out very well. an instant keeper! loved that it can be done on a modest budget with every day pantry items!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma&Wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Good basics but a bit dry as reviews stated before. I added a can of Golden Mushroom Soup with the Meat when browning. This adds the needed moisture while adding a bit more seasoning. Because of the soup I also cut a bit of the salt later in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Good supper-dish. I ,as well, added Italian spices, a dash of chili powder. I was out of diced tomatoes in the pantry so I substituted a 26 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the paste and diced tomatoes and water. Popped in the oven @ 375 for 15 mins to get the top lightly browned. Plenty hot enough off the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was really good. Always looking for good venison recipes. Would definatley make again. I like to use wheat noodles and they did well in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States