Johnny Marzetti Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I substituted a can of stewed tomatoes (undrained) for the can of sauce because it was what I had onhand and because it had onions, celery, and peppers in it! A great shortcut for those of us with no time to chop veggies. I used all ground beef and monterey jack/cheddar because that's what I had. Came out great! Chunky, cheesy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was very easy to make and very tasty. I used whole wheat rotini pasta and diced tomatos with italian seasonings. This recipe also freezes well and the leftovers are ever so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was a good casserole. It was pretty basic and easy to make. It just lacked flavor. With a little work on the sauce the dish could easily be excellent. After you brown the meat and saute the onion, veggies, and garlic, I recommend doing a wine reduction with a basic merlot (one that you can actually drink). Reduce the wine on med-high heat until it you have half of what you started with (I usually start with 1 - 1/2 cups). Then add 1 large can of tomato sauce. A generous sprinkle of basil, parsley, and italian seasoning. Then add your meat and veggies back to the sauce. Let simmer about 5 minutes. Then top to over your cheese in your casserole dish and bake. I would like to add that this casserole would be really good with eggplant, zuccini, carrots, squash, etc. You really could add any combination of vegetable(s) and it would be delicious. Next time I will definately keep the celery but I am going to add shredded zuccini and eggplant. I will cut out the diced tomatoes and double the tomato sauce; only because my kids didn't care for the tomatoes chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is a great recipe--just delicious. Anyone I serve it to likes it a lot. I use the Hunt's tomatoes that have celery, green pepper, onions, and garlic, and omit the celery and green pepper. I still use the onion and garlic called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Barron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I thought this was o.k. It's a good base but next time would add more garlic and some Italian seasoning. A bit more sauce wouldn't hurt either and maybe a pinch of crushed red pepper. Found it a bit bland as is. May also use mozzarella instead of cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Just made this last night-really yummy! I made a few changes to sauce-used only tomato sauce, no diced tomatoes. Also, I added 2T Worcestershire Sauce, 1 tsp Basil, 1 tsp Oregano, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper, and 1/2 tsp garlic salt, and 1 T packed brown sugar to the sauce for some more flavor. For cheese, I couldn't find Mexican blend, so used a Colby/Monterey Jack blend which worked great. I stuck with the sharp cheddar on top. My 13 year old who never eats tomato sauce cleaned his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was absolutely wonderful! would not change a thing. I served this for visiting family (2 adults and three children) and it went over very well. Everyone had at least two helpings and the leftovers were all gone by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Great old fashioned hearty meal recipe...good for kids...they'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This recipe is absolutely delicious! The only thing I did differently was I used penne pasta instead of rigatoni and shredded Italian blend cheeses instead of cheddar. Although it's great fresh, it's even better the next day!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Bodie Hayden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This came up on an ingredient search when I was trying to clean out my fridge. It was great. The sausage makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States