Johnny Marzetti Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Delicious! And we will certainly make it again and again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was a big hit with my boyfriend, who is quite picky, and I certainly enjoyed it. I used hot Italian sausage but otherwise followed the recipe as written. The largest casserole dish we have is a 2qt so I did have to divide the recipe; however, it worked out perfectly because I gave the smaller one to our widower neighbor. I will definitely try this recipe again, though next time I think I'll also use the Italian cheese blend on top, in place of the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnieFannieTX

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Everyone loved it. Could add corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Big hit for all but S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Just made this last night-really yummy! I made a few changes to sauce-used only tomato sauce, no diced tomatoes. Also, I added 2T Worcestershire Sauce, 1 tsp Basil, 1 tsp Oregano, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper, and 1/2 tsp garlic salt, and 1 T packed brown sugar to the sauce for some more flavor. For cheese, I couldn't find Mexican blend, so used a Colby/Monterey Jack blend which worked great. I stuck with the sharp cheddar on top. My 13 year old who never eats tomato sauce cleaned his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was absolutely wonderful! would not change a thing. I served this for visiting family (2 adults and three children) and it went over very well. Everyone had at least two helpings and the leftovers were all gone by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Delish, even my kids loved it. We only ate half the pan so we froze the rest and ate it a week later. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Easy to create and very tasty! Used just what I had on hand - ground beef only (no sausage) - small can of tomato sauce. It was perfect. My hubby was enthusiastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just loafin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was a good casserole. It was pretty basic and easy to make. It just lacked flavor. With a little work on the sauce the dish could easily be excellent. After you brown the meat and saute the onion, veggies, and garlic, I recommend doing a wine reduction with a basic merlot (one that you can actually drink). Reduce the wine on med-high heat until it you have half of what you started with (I usually start with 1 - 1/2 cups). Then add 1 large can of tomato sauce. A generous sprinkle of basil, parsley, and italian seasoning. Then add your meat and veggies back to the sauce. Let simmer about 5 minutes. Then top to over your cheese in your casserole dish and bake. I would like to add that this casserole would be really good with eggplant, zuccini, carrots, squash, etc. You really could add any combination of vegetable(s) and it would be delicious. Next time I will definately keep the celery but I am going to add shredded zuccini and eggplant. I will cut out the diced tomatoes and double the tomato sauce; only because my kids didn't care for the tomatoes chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Very good. My husband loved it and he doesnt like pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States