Johnny Marzetti Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LauD
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Love this pasta, very easy, lots of flavour... Definetely I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This is really very good, very easy and very inexpensive to make. The people who complain about it being "bland"; well, add whatever satisfies your tastes -- I obviously add salt and pepper. I also add some cayenne pepper flakes for a "zing" and use hot Italian sausage in the meat mix. Add some Italian seasoning and use tomatoes and tomato sauce with Italian herbs/seasonings added. Thank you for a great casserole that actually tastes even better as it sits! Therefore, leftovers for lunches are outstanding! I also use a whole green pepper and have added black olives! But, that is for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLITTRZMINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Kids loved it. Used tomatoes with the other ingredients included. And lots of added seasoning, on both the noodles and the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was really good. Most of my kids liked it too. I used all hamburger but I am sure it would be even better with the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Everyone in my little family loved this dish. Pretty easy to make. I wonder why include celery?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Thought it was pretty bland, the only "seasoning" that seemed predominant was the seasoning in the sausage (which didn't seem to really suit the dish for some reason), and even after sitting overnight, it still was only OK. If I were to attempt something like it again, I might try stewed tomatoes, and possibly use only ground chuck, but I'm pretty certain I wouldn't make it again. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Johnny Marzetti Casserole Haiku: "More like 4.5. Near perfection comfort food. Just needs seasoning." I wasn't prepared to like this so much, thinking it basically a jazzed-up version of Hamburger Helper, but ended up very surprised at how great it turned out to be; the only thing that it called out for was a heavier hand in the spice department; Italian seasoning, basil, oregano ... I just grabbed what my hand found in my cluttered cabinet (well, w/in reason, I certainly didn't put in anything that wouldn't jive w/ the flavors like curry or cloves!) and sprinkled it in. Definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
My whole family loved this recipe and usually we nit pick a little on the different add ins to the recipe but not this time! Even my three year old loved it. A+ to this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I did make some changes using the ground beef & Italian sausage, celery, adding grated carrots & dried onion in the sauce made with a can of whole tomatoes, crushed tomatoes & tomato sauce, oregano & dried Italian seasoning, teaspoon of sugar and teaspoon of parmesan cheese. When sauce cooled I mixed in about 10 ounces of sour cream into the sauce. Layered as directed only using Italian cheese and parmesan (no cheddar). Cover baking dish with plastic wrap and let set in refrigerator overnight. Let the casserole start to come to room temperature before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kemah, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Made it with crushed tomatoes and it lacked some spices I agree with another review. We loved the Italian sausage and will probably add more next time instead of the ratio here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States