Johnny Marzetti Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
UPDATE: SINCE MY FIANCE AND I DIDN'T CARE MUCH FOR THIS, WE WEREN'T EXCITED ABOUT HAVING THE LEFTOVER CASSEROLE. I DECIDED TO DELIVER IT TO MY PARENTS, AND TO MY SURPRISE, THEY LOVED IT!!!!! Meh. This was "OK." Certainly nothing to write home about. Made two casseroles, one of which was for dinner tonight. Because others mentioned that this makes a LOT, I divided everything between two 9 inch square disposable baking pans and froze one casserole for later (minus the cheddar). To compensate for the blandness / dryness many have experienced, I made a few modifications. I used hot Italian sausage (all I had on hand), a can of Italian-style diced tomatoes instead of plain ones, an ENTIRE 26 oz. jar of generic store brand chunky-style zesty garlic and three cheese pasta sauce (on sale at my grocer this week for $1!), an entire green bell pepper (1 T wasn't enough...), quadruple the amount of garlic (I wanted to use my last few cloves) and 1 T Italian seasoning. Despite these changes, my fiance and I still thought this was really bland. I liked it a bit more than he did though. My fiance only had one helping and ate ALL of his salad and garlic bread (rare for him - he usually has seconds of EVERYTHING and HATES salad... lol!). Oh well! Maybe this will float your boat. Thanks for sharing with us, KC :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I made this casserole and found it to be very easy to put together. The taste was good but somewhat bland. It seemed to us to be more like a different way to make spaghetti. I will be making this dish again but will be trying other ingredients and stepping up on others. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kberry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Seward, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
My family found this to be very bland. It seems to be missing something. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAGH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wynne, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was okay but rather bland and sure could use some spices. It definitely needs another can of tomato sauce as it turned out a little dry. This really wasn't bad, it simply needs a bit if adjusting to make it a really good dish. As it is, it is just okay, but not good. This does have lots of potential though and could be doctored up to make it good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Very good and easy. I added some fresh mushrooms to the other veggies (needed to use them up). Also a little extra garlic and some crushed red pepper and Italian seasoning. Leftovers were tasty next day too, and it does make a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Photo by luvmyitalianhubby
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Wonderful!! Absolutely delish! It was even better the next day for left overs, however , I added sliced olives, and used a can of diced tomato's and green chiles. MMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmyitalianhubby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Very flavorable. Kid loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I used the bow tie pasta, since it was all I had in the pantry. It was very tasteful. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is a great recipe--just delicious. Anyone I serve it to likes it a lot. I use the Hunt's tomatoes that have celery, green pepper, onions, and garlic, and omit the celery and green pepper. I still use the onion and garlic called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Barron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
The Family tought was OK. I will most likely make it again. It really does make a lot. This is a cook once, have dinner twice recipe. In my book... that's a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States