Johnny Marzetti Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Delicious and so simple. All 8 kids and both of us adults loved it. 'thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was fine. It wasn't anything exceptional, but it was good enough. I actually preferred the flavor as a leftover better then I did when it was fresh. I will probably make this again. It definitely reminds me of something you would find at a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Great recipe! i definitly altered it a bit to our taste. Used spaghetti sauce and two cans of tomatoes. I also added twice the onion, bell pepper, and garlic. Not only that but i added a finely chopped zuchini. Great! I even made it the morning I was going to cook it, left it in the fridge all day and turned out great! a great go-to recipe, especialy if you have men or kids in your household! i highly recomnd adding the extra veggies though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I thought it was ok. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I've always loved Johnny Marzetti since I was a kid! I added a can of tomato soup and substituted the meat for Morningstar fake beef crumbles and it was delicious! I also used a whole green bell pepper and 3 large celery stalks to get the veggies to stand out more! Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Although I made a few changes, I give this 5 stars. The changes I made were due to not having some ingredients on hand. Subbed Rotell w/ green chilis for diced tomatoes, used 1/2 lb. Jimmy Dean sausage in place of Italian sausage,used beef stew meat, chopped, in place of ground beef, added 3 Tbls minced garlic, used 2 cups mozarella in place of Italian cheese. WOW!!!! Good stuff! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrol J. Unruh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
UPDATE: SINCE MY FIANCE AND I DIDN'T CARE MUCH FOR THIS, WE WEREN'T EXCITED ABOUT HAVING THE LEFTOVER CASSEROLE. I DECIDED TO DELIVER IT TO MY PARENTS, AND TO MY SURPRISE, THEY LOVED IT!!!!! Meh. This was "OK." Certainly nothing to write home about. Made two casseroles, one of which was for dinner tonight. Because others mentioned that this makes a LOT, I divided everything between two 9 inch square disposable baking pans and froze one casserole for later (minus the cheddar). To compensate for the blandness / dryness many have experienced, I made a few modifications. I used hot Italian sausage (all I had on hand), a can of Italian-style diced tomatoes instead of plain ones, an ENTIRE 26 oz. jar of generic store brand chunky-style zesty garlic and three cheese pasta sauce (on sale at my grocer this week for $1!), an entire green bell pepper (1 T wasn't enough...), quadruple the amount of garlic (I wanted to use my last few cloves) and 1 T Italian seasoning. Despite these changes, my fiance and I still thought this was really bland. I liked it a bit more than he did though. My fiance only had one helping and ate ALL of his salad and garlic bread (rare for him - he usually has seconds of EVERYTHING and HATES salad... lol!). Oh well! Maybe this will float your boat. Thanks for sharing with us, KC :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I made this casserole and found it to be very easy to put together. The taste was good but somewhat bland. It seemed to us to be more like a different way to make spaghetti. I will be making this dish again but will be trying other ingredients and stepping up on others. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kberry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Seward, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
My family found this to be very bland. It seems to be missing something. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAGH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wynne, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was okay but rather bland and sure could use some spices. It definitely needs another can of tomato sauce as it turned out a little dry. This really wasn't bad, it simply needs a bit if adjusting to make it a really good dish. As it is, it is just okay, but not good. This does have lots of potential though and could be doctored up to make it good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States