Johnny Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I've been making this for decades and it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Made this for dinner tonight as pancakes. The only changes I made were to replace the shortening with melted butter and to beat the egg white to semi-stiff peaks before folding it into the batter. Also added 1 Tablespoon of vanilla extract. Recipe makes about 16 4" pancakes, we topped ours with strawberries simmered in maple syrup and a dollop of whipped cream, VERY GOOD! I will definitely make these again, but I will probably add an extra egg white for fluffier cakes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaelin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Just like Mom's. MMM comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This is delicious. Very easy to make and so moist. I switched the milk amounts the second time I made it and found we liked the texture better. I mixed the cup of milk with the cup of cornmeal and let it sit. Then mixed the egg with the 1/2 cup of milk. Lovely tender crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glencoe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Mine came out really crumbly and did not hold together when cut. The second time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and it was no better. The flavour is great, though. Wish I knew what I did wrong...eeergh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made this for an Indigenous gathering of family, and it was a grand success; normally, I make frybread, but I thought to try this as a new idea for baking. Nothing was left over, it was all eaten or taken for on the road snacks! I am going to keep cooking this as to perfect this yummy, yummy cake. It did take a bit longer than 45mins, but still, a grand idea in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
AWESOME!! I baked it for 30 minutes and it was great, not dry. I grew up with this Johnny Cake too. But, my Mom always used the recipe that was on the bag. I must say that the recipe on the bag is much drier and crumblier than this recipe. This recipe is so moist! My sister even agreed that this recipe is better than the one we grew up with! Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Ouellette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe. This is my favorite breakfast, in our house we put down maple flavored sausages first then pour the batter over top... so so so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
moist, flavourful, held together after it cooled, just sweet enough, light, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I replace the shortny with vegetale oil and add honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States