Johnny Appleseed Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Wow! These were really good. I left out the sugar. I chopped the apple and 1/4 onion (didnt have onion salt) in the food processor. I left out the egg. Everybody loved them. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I double the gravy when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I have been making these meatballs since I ran across this recipe on this site about 5 yrs ago. My family loves them as do my coworkers when we have pitch ins. I sometimes make them with pineapple and almost always add cinnamon as well. Thanks Christing for dreaming this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENARM
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Really, really delicious. I left out the egg only because I didn't have one and couldn't be bothered to run to the store. I was worried that they wouldn't hold together, but they did. I also shredded onion while I was shredding the apple and mixed it all together. I am not a stellar cook, so it could just have been me, but it took me an hour to make these with apple chopping, mixing, making the meatballs, browning them, and the making the gravy and simmering. It was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Everyone (even the picky one) liked this. I also grated the apple and omitted the sugar in the gravy. I will make this again since it was a nice change from other ground beef dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This was a good recipe. I do suggest chopping the apples extra fine simply to be able to make the meatballs and making double the gravy. My whole family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farnham, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
My family loved these meatballs. Great with rice and mac salad. I made double the gravy since we like it on the rice. The sweetness was a nice change. I like to hear my husband say "MMMMM! What is this???" and try to figure out the twist in a recipe, which he definately did with this one. Looks familiar enough that the kids tried it and liked it. Make sure to chop the apple into FINE chunks or it is a pain to shape the meatballs :o) A+ recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valarie Amormino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roosevelt, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
These are the best meatballs that I have ever eaten! Not only did I love them but my dh and kids loved them too and they are hard to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I'm not a cook, nor am I a meatball person, but I loved this recipe. I wasn't going to finely dice up an apple, so I took a soft apple and grated it. Worked perfectly! I suggest mixing up the gravy and sugar before pouring it in. It makes stirring it easier. And it only fed 3 of us. Overall, didn't taste apple...just yumminess! Far better than those jelly meatball recipes. Served over egg noodles and substituted garlic salt. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Family loves these meatballs - husband says they're the best! Be sure to chop apples finely. I like to double the gravy and serve over egg noodles - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States