Johnny Appleseed Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
We loved the gravy but felt the meatballs were lacking a stronger flavor although they were still pretty good. Next time I will add more egg. I did add 1 tsp of all spice and around 1 tsp of cinnamon maybe more, did add rosemary but didn't have much. The gravy we used a brown gravy mix that MUST be doubled. Didn't have any brown sugar so I eyeballed some honey, cinnamon and a bit of dashida(korean beef stock stuff). Served with Penne and stuffing - to hubbys request. Needs to be served with pasta and some veggie with good texture(not soft). Maybe a salad or something. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENARM
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Really, really delicious. I left out the egg only because I didn't have one and couldn't be bothered to run to the store. I was worried that they wouldn't hold together, but they did. I also shredded onion while I was shredding the apple and mixed it all together. I am not a stellar cook, so it could just have been me, but it took me an hour to make these with apple chopping, mixing, making the meatballs, browning them, and the making the gravy and simmering. It was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This recipe was easy. I used seasoned bread crumbs which added more flavor and grated the apple. It was served over egg noodles and topped with a tablespoon of sour cream....I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Granville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Everyone (even the picky one) liked this. I also grated the apple and omitted the sugar in the gravy. I will make this again since it was a nice change from other ground beef dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I have been making these meatballs since I ran across this recipe on this site about 5 yrs ago. My family loves them as do my coworkers when we have pitch ins. I sometimes make them with pineapple and almost always add cinnamon as well. Thanks Christing for dreaming this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Wow! These were really good. I left out the sugar. I chopped the apple and 1/4 onion (didnt have onion salt) in the food processor. I left out the egg. Everybody loved them. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Although the meatballs themselves were good, we found the sweet gravy too odd for our taste. This might be better without the sugar. I added a little bit of rosemary to the meat since some reviewers thought these meatballs were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This recipe has just the right touch of sweetness and was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I double the gravy when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
i hate to say it but these weren't very good at all. they had a weird taste and were not a big hit with anyone who tried them. i don't think i'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States