Joey's Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by RioChick
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This recipe came out very good but I kinda goofed through it. Mine was very thick & custardy with a nice crusty top even though after I realized I skipped the 'toast bread' step. Mine was already a couple of days old and nice and firm which helped to spread the butter and not smoosh the bread. I had to use about 3 cups heavy whipping cream and 2 cups half&half as that is what I had on hand. It wasn't grainy at all even without a water bath which I really liked. I also accidently dumped quite a bit of cinnamon after the shaker top fell off (oopsie!) but if this hadn't happened I think it may have been too bland. I will make this again with the same 'adjustments'. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RioChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saxtons River, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was a very delicious dessert we served at our family Christmas this year. Everyone loved it! We will definitely be making this a holiday tradition. It was very easy and made a huge batch. I actually had to use two dishes to bake it in because the large one was not large enough. I will be trying different variations as well and I'm sure they'll be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
The recipe was easy to follow, and the result delightfully castardy. Like the previous reviewers, I added more nutmeg and cinnamon. I'm going to try it again next time with vanilla sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Really good recipe Geoff. I didn't have 5 cups of half and half so I used part milk and eggnog and left out the spices. This made a huge batch and I'm looking forward to the leftovers. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This is the best I have every tatsted!!! I made this for my family and ended up eating the almost the whole thing myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was the best bread pudding I've ever tasted. Many recipes come out thick and dry but this one was custardy as promised. My family loved it! I did use a bit more than a "pinch" of each spice but otherwise this recipe is flawless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I made this Christmas Eve and served it with homemade whipping cream and fresh raspberries. My husband's 88 year-old grandma said it was the best bread pudding she had ever eaten. It was so simple to make. I used vanilla challa bread from a local bakery which I think really made it extra special. I used a lot more than 2 pinches of cinnamon on top for a little more flavor but other than that, followed the recipe to a tee. It was very custardy. Simply delicious. I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This is the richest and creamiest bread pudding I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLDDE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Perfect! Lends itself wonderfully to additions. I used a baguette and added dried cranberries and little apple pieces, then made a carmel sauce to serve with - outstanding. This should be the base for all bread puddings, if not wonderful on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
absolutely delicious and very easy to do. Even my grandkids love it, and wanted to know if I was going to make it for thanksgiving again this year and of course christmas too.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States