Joey's Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
best bread pudding ever. topped with a custard sauce i got from this site. could not stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I used this recipe as a base for a "Cinnamon Bread" bread pudding. I used a local bakeries yeast cinnamon bread (yeast, you know, with that nice rolled cinnamon swirl). I made a half-batch and baked in an 8x8 pan. For the half batch, I just weighed the cinnamon bread to be 1/2 pound, toasted, buttered lightly, and tore it apart in 1" cubes. For the half recipe, I used less sugar than called for b/c this was meant for a brunch, not dessert, further the bread was already sweet. I just used 3/4 cup of white sugar. I did not add any extra cinnamon, but added about 1/8 teaspoon of nutmeg to the milk to dissolve. Of importance! Be sure you let the bread soak in the egg/vanilla mix for about 5 minutes, then add the sugared-milk. This lets the egg set into the bread a bit. I used whole milk instead of half and half, and even then I thought it too much fat. I baked at 350d for 60 minutes, just when the center read a temp at 160d (important, since I had a mother-to-be at the brunch...I could assure her the eggs were thoroughly cooked). I chilled it the night before and by the time it was served, it was room temp and scrumptious! It is an egg-y custardy slice-able bread pudding...just the way I like it! AJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Having to please an "Authentic Cajun Family" this recipe hits the spot. I make this for our annual Mardi-Gras Party every year. I did make additions to the recipe as it was a little boring. I add 1/2 cup of shredded coconut,1/2 cup chopped pecans, 1/2 cup golden raisins. I usually have to add a little more liquid to compensate for the dry additions. I serve this with a butter-rum sauce on the side. PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMCCURLEY

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
So good. I used french bread, and divided the recipe into two dishes, leaving one as-is, and adding dried cranberries and white chocolate chunks to the second - SO GOOD! Made and excellent Christmas dessert! I'll be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This was my first attempt at bread pudding, but it was so easy to make. My only problem was that I read other reviews and added more cinnamon - which turned out to be too much for me. I'll make this again for sure, next time sticking to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This recipe was a HIT at two potlucks I attended recently. I had never made a bread pudding before, and it was so easy and failproof. Easy to make and adapts well to modifications (I used Splenda for Baking Blend instead of white sugar and Fat Free Half and Half). Overwhelming raves from everyone; thank you so much for sharing this super tasty, awesome recipe!! Truly ono-licious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
What a waste of a dozen eggs! This tasted waaaaay to eggy. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I loved this recipe. I added 1 tsp of cinnamon and nutmeg instead of the pinch the recipe called for. I also used milk instead of cream and it came out spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Schnare Harnish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I divided this recipe in half and used 2 8"x8" pans. I used half white and half whole wheat bread. I think that buttering each slice on both sides gives a very savory flavor although it is time consuming. I used kitchen shears to cut up the bread. I added 3/4 c raisins to 1 batch and 3/4 c blueberries soaked in vodka (They were strained from homemade blueberry cordial) to the other. They were both delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I ADDED CHOPPED PECANS AND CRANBERRIES.SO YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States