Joey's Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by MarriedSAHMof3
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was a very good recipe. It made a lot. I used some stale sourdough bread. I did the recipe just as, except I boiled the raisins for about 10 minutes in water, vanilla, and cinnamon. My husbad loved it, too. The only change I would like, is it be a little more syrup-y (is that a word? lol). Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarriedSAHMof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Don't change a thing as it's perfect as written! Now if you want to add items to spice it up like cranberries, chocolate chips, nuts etc then add but keep the basic recipe the same. You won't be disappointed...Yummy, Custardy Bread Pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This recipe is very yummy! Things I did differently: I did not butter the bread first. I broke the bread in small pieces into a large bowl, then took a stick of room temperature butter and sliced it into 12 small pieces. I took 3 pieces(of butter) at a time with the bread and then mixed the bread with a mixer. I did this altertnatingly till all pieces of butter were gone. Then I got in it with my hands and mixed it a bit more. I did ad another 1/2 stick butter to it. I did not use regular bread. I used 2 packs of the Hawaiian sweet rolls. For the cinnamon and nutmeg, I sprinkled cinnamon all over the top, then with a wooden spoon, I swirled it into the batter so that some would get into the batter and some would stay on top. I did the same with the nutmeg. In a pinch, I ran out of vanilla extract, so I used pancake syrup in its place. The recipe came out yummalicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This recipe calls for way too much sugar and vanilla. After only three bites I couldn't stand anymore of it's sickly sweet taste. If I were to ever make it again I would reduce the sugar and vanilla by half. However, having a 9x13 pan of uneatable bread pudding did give me a great idea. I chopped up half of this bread pudding, put it in an 8x11 pan, and poured my own basic custard recipe (minus the sugar) over it. I also added more cinnamon and nutmeg. I baked this new concoction for 1hour 15minutes at 350degrees. It turned out perfect! It was everything I was hoping the first recipe would've been; the perfect amount of sweetness with just a hint of vanilla. I'm freezing the other half of the too sweet bread pudding so I can make my version again some day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
The best thing i like about this pudding is that it has texture!! sooo many bread puddings look so thick and one layered that i can't bring myself to eat it. I made enough for 2 batches. i used 2 very large glass pie plates that i purchased from IKEA for $4.99. I used 1 loaf of handbraded Challah bread and half a loaf of cinn-raisin bread (i know this was over 1 pound) i put extra cinn and nutmeg, added a little clove. It came out great i took them to 2 different homes for Thanksgiving and i got 6 phone calls about it. I just got through making2 more this morning for other people (one for my friend who will swap a pan of her famous mac&cheese for the bread pudding). This time i used 1 1/2 Challah bread, i chopped 2 apples and in a pot on the stove i added 1/2 cup raisins, 1/4 cup of dried craisins, vanilla and 1 cup sugar of the 3 cups called for and brought it to a boil just enough for the apples to get soft and added it to the mix. It came out great!!!! i have 3 more to make before the week is out "OMG". I will try adding mashed pumpkin , sweet potato, sliced almonds, amaretto, rum, flavored liquors, peaches...... the list can go on and on of what i can do (not all together of course). Thank u so much this is the "Bomb". I will pass this recipe on to all. I am so impressed that it looks just like the picture that is soo important to me when i am looking for recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I added a little brandy to it! Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
DELICIOUS! Everyone who tastes this bread pudding LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking-n-MS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This recipe is PERFECTION just the way it is. But, I have made it several times, and have to admit that I don't toast the bread, and a couple of times I used raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
SOOOOO GOOD! Even my boyfriend loved it, and he's picky, when we first tried it we had said that we should have split the whole pan in half, but after eating one piece we realized that it was very filling, I will definitely be making this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is truly the best bread pudding I have ever had! I also soaked the toasted bread in the half-n-half mixture and added raisins as someone suggested. The caramel sauce just topped it off! It's a NO FAIL recipe and always a HUGE hit! Thanks Joey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States