Joey's Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
I loved this recipe,easy and very creamy. I took another members suggestion and added more cinnamon, I also thought it too sweet next time I will reduce the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cortland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This recipe came out very good but I kinda goofed through it. Mine was very thick & custardy with a nice crusty top even though I realized after I skipped the 'toast bread' step. Mine was already a couple of days old and nice and firm which helped to spread the butter and not smoosh the bread. I had to use about 3 cups heavy whipping cream and 2 cups half&half as that is what I had on hand. It wasn't grainy at all even without a water bath which I really liked. I also accidently dumped quite a bit of cinnamon after the shaker top fell off (oopsie!) but if this hadn't happened I think it may have been too bland. I will make this again with the same 'adjustments'. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RioChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saxtons River, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I make this very often. I use up my old bread and send it to my grandmother...she loves it. I don't care for bread pudding, but I like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My family loves this! It is true comfort food. I halve the recipe and use less sugar (4 Tbsps butter, 8 slices bread, 6 eggs, 1-1/2 Tbsp vanilla, 2-1/2 cups half-n-half and 3/4 cup sugar). I sprinkle with cinnamon and bake it in a 9 by 9 inch baking dish for 40 to 45 minutes and serve with whipped cream and fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
This recipe is very rich but, will it ever make your mouth water! I have made this a over and over with nothing less than great reviews. Thank you Joey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Needs more cinnamon but otherwise is really good. A sauce to serve on top wouldn't hurt either. Eating it hot with vanilla ice cream on the side would take it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2000
Very rich with a good flavor, but kind of messy to make and not as custardy as I prefer. Overall very good tho! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I made this today for thanksgiving and it was a dud. I thought it needed alot more than a pinch of cinnamon and it wasn't very tastey. Maybe more cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States