Joe's Special Scramble Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This recipe has many versions with slight variations. It originated in San Francisco's Joe's Restaurant in the 1930s during the "big band" era. The Bunny Bennington orchestra came in to the restaurant at closing time and the chef whipped this up from what he had on hand. I add a tablespoon of dry Marsella wine while the onions and meat are browning. I beat the eggs together as you would for scrambled eggs and stir into the mix at the end. Just before serving I add pine nuts and Parmesan cheese. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Seale

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Hearty and tasty. Fresh spinach is the only way to go with this dish, however; use 1/2 pound (stems removed,or use the bagged stuff.) It cooks very quickly and gives a far better flavor. I used only half the onion, but added a touch more garlic, as it really complements the beef and spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Ok, first of all as a child my dad used to tell us he made this recipe up in the Air Force when he was in charge of cooking which I know now is total bogus (thanks dad). Now, I always loved this dish but it is better made with fresh spinach, saute the mushrooms with some butter seperatly and then you can top with some shredded cheddar or parmesan cheese and season liberally with salt and pepper. Pretty good and pleasing all around with some practice and something that as a kid we all looked forward to and as an adult is still fun to make. Can also be done with sausage for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Delicious! I made this recipe for 2 - my husband and me. I used 1/2 lb ground beef and eyeballed the veggies based on what we had scraps of in the fridge - lots of spinach, 2 big mushrooms, 1/2 an onion and 1/4 green pepper - + 2 cloves of garlic and 2 eggs. I followed the recipe exactly (true, with a small variation in vegetables) until the very end. I may have turned my stove on too high in the beginning because by the time the onion cooked clear I thought the meat was very well-done. When the egg started taking a long time to cook I didn't want the meat to go bad so I ended up scrambling it a bit. Next time I'll turn my eletric stove on 5 from the start rather than 7 (medium high). Still, it was so tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qsanti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitefish, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
There was a restaurant here in town many years ago that served this dish & I absolutely loved it so I thought I'd give it a try myself. It is so delicious! I prepared it for 30 people & was quite taken back that almost the entire dish was returned full. It seems the men don't like to eat anything green & the women didn't like mushrooms. What a meal they missed just by not even taking a single bite. This is so very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is very good! When I was a kid, my mom made something similar to this, but instead of using spinach, she used chopped zucchini (maybe because my father LOVED zucchini!). The funny thing is, WE called it "Joe's Special," and we lived in a suburb of San Francisco! After reading this recipe, I have made it now both with zucchini and spinach, and it is great both ways! Tonight, while we were eating it, I thought it might be great with salsa in it, and my husband suggested making it with sausage instead of hamburger. As another reviewer said, this is a pretty versatile recipe, as any number of alterations can be made to it and it is still delicious! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is a great recipe, I have made Joe's Special for years but didn't have quite the right combination that I remembered tasting years ago. This one does it, only change I made was to use green onions since I was out of others and added Parmesan cheese. My husband raved about it even though he isn't fond of green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Oh yea! This was wonderfully easy and delicious! I followed the recipe really closely - except I added a little butter when cooking the mushrooms 'cuz that's what I do. My family often doesn't see the same thing twice (there's so many things to try!) but this one's definitely a keeper! Next time, I may try adding some butternut squash or red bell peppers or something... 'cuz, again, that's what I do... always embelishing. Thanx for the recipe, JulieP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Delicious and Nutritious! Made 8 slightly smaller portions out of this recipe and cracked eggs into the four we ate tonight. The other four portions went eggless into the freezer for a great home made TV dinner for a lazy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Mmmmmmmm! I haven't had Joe's Speacial for years, but it was a go to dinner in our family. My Mom and Dad were in S.F. in the late 40s and thats where Mom picked up the recipe. This is so good - dinner, brunch - after a late night out too. It may sound like an odd combination, but you have to try it, really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States