Joe's Special Scramble Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Mmmmmmmm! I haven't had Joe's Speacial for years, but it was a go to dinner in our family. My Mom and Dad were in S.F. in the late 40s and thats where Mom picked up the recipe. This is so good - dinner, brunch - after a late night out too. It may sound like an odd combination, but you have to try it, really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I love this dish, and frozen spinach is so easy and quick, that is what I usually use (and cheaper than using fresh). I have been making this for years, and ALWAYS sprinkle freshly grated Parmesan cheese over this before serving, with more Parmesan offered at the table for those who like it. To me, it's got to have that fresh Parmesan to be authentic. Great to serve with cooked Orzo and garlic sourdough toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherbg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was very good. I didn't have mushrooms and used fresh spinach instead. Next time I think I will heat for less time than the recipe suggested - it turned out a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This is a keeper! I used ground turkey and egg whites to keep this on the healthier side - turned out great! Fresh spinach is a must. I actually only had canned mushrooms on hand so cooked them with the meat from the start to help their flavor and texture - worked just ok. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is very good! When I was a kid, my mom made something similar to this, but instead of using spinach, she used chopped zucchini (maybe because my father LOVED zucchini!). The funny thing is, WE called it "Joe's Special," and we lived in a suburb of San Francisco! After reading this recipe, I have made it now both with zucchini and spinach, and it is great both ways! Tonight, while we were eating it, I thought it might be great with salsa in it, and my husband suggested making it with sausage instead of hamburger. As another reviewer said, this is a pretty versatile recipe, as any number of alterations can be made to it and it is still delicious! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Delicious and Nutritious! Made 8 slightly smaller portions out of this recipe and cracked eggs into the four we ate tonight. The other four portions went eggless into the freezer for a great home made TV dinner for a lazy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Will make this again. A good, healthy meal. Only 4/5 stars because everyone didn't agree on loving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna164

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This recipe has many versions with slight variations. It originated in San Francisco's Joe's Restaurant in the 1930s during the "big band" era. The Bunny Bennington orchestra came in to the restaurant at closing time and the chef whipped this up from what he had on hand. I add a tablespoon of dry Marsella wine while the onions and meat are browning. I beat the eggs together as you would for scrambled eggs and stir into the mix at the end. Just before serving I add pine nuts and Parmesan cheese. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Seale

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is a great recipe, I have made Joe's Special for years but didn't have quite the right combination that I remembered tasting years ago. This one does it, only change I made was to use green onions since I was out of others and added Parmesan cheese. My husband raved about it even though he isn't fond of green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Ok, first of all as a child my dad used to tell us he made this recipe up in the Air Force when he was in charge of cooking which I know now is total bogus (thanks dad). Now, I always loved this dish but it is better made with fresh spinach, saute the mushrooms with some butter seperatly and then you can top with some shredded cheddar or parmesan cheese and season liberally with salt and pepper. Pretty good and pleasing all around with some practice and something that as a kid we all looked forward to and as an adult is still fun to make. Can also be done with sausage for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States