Joe's Special Scramble Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
cut the beef in half, add at least 1/4 cup of parmesan and at least 1/2 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper. Frozen chopped spinach and fresh mushrooms are perfect in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This is a great dish for low-carbers, like me :). My boyfriend didn't think he'd like it, but he ended up having a huge second helping. I used fresh spinach instead of frozen. Topped off with a few shakes of tobasco - cause we love heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this with Johnsonville Pork and Chicken Italian Sausage and fresh spinach. Delicious. I've had this dish downtown at Orignal Joe's lots of times.. really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Unfortunately, this recipe is terribly bland. It may be fine for those who like this kind of thing, but if you like flavor, skip this. I looked at other recipes for Joe's scramble, and this at least had some garlic and nutmeg. I blame Joe, not the cook who posted this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Enjoyed this version of Joe's Special with nutmeg and poached eggs instead of scrambled. Didn't have any mushrooms. Used oregano from the garden and a 12 oz bag of frozen spinach (unthawed) to 1 lb ground beef and 3 eggs. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This has been a family favorite for YEARS. My grandparents lived in Oakland and had family and friends in the San Francisco area. I assume this is where grandma got her recipe. Dad used to put vinegar on spinach, and always added it (at the table) to this dish as well. I've used balsamic vinegar to it for a real treat! It's a low carb favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I first had this in the early 1950's when my Dad played baseball for the San Francisco Seals. I still make it today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Al

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I have been making Joe's Special for 40 years and it is always a winner for a really easy and quick meal. I had never written the recipe down and now here it is. Thanks for sharing and bringing back some fun memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Mmmmmmmm! I haven't had Joe's Speacial for years, but it was a go to dinner in our family. My Mom and Dad were in S.F. in the late 40s and thats where Mom picked up the recipe. This is so good - dinner, brunch - after a late night out too. It may sound like an odd combination, but you have to try it, really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I love this dish, and frozen spinach is so easy and quick, that is what I usually use (and cheaper than using fresh). I have been making this for years, and ALWAYS sprinkle freshly grated Parmesan cheese over this before serving, with more Parmesan offered at the table for those who like it. To me, it's got to have that fresh Parmesan to be authentic. Great to serve with cooked Orzo and garlic sourdough toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherbg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States