Joe's Shamrock Shake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I loved this milkshake next time I would not ad as much mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This shake was pretty good, but a little heavy on the peppermint extract. It was a little strong. The consistency was much thinner than most milk shakes, which made it easy to drink through a straw. This recipe makes two huge servings; I split it between me, my husband, and our 8 yr old, and it was the perfect amount for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I made this for the kids and tasted it. It's been a long time since I've had a Shamrock shake, but it tastes pretty similar to what I remember. I topped the kids' with a dollop of Cool Whip and some mini chocolate chips. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
OK check it out......here is my version: 4-5 large scoops vanilla ice cream, 1/3 to 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp mint (not peppermint-i always associate peppermint with pinks and reds.......not greens!) extract and 6-7 drops of green food coloring. Blend it up real good and voila! I think its a pretty close match to McDonalds shamrock shake but hey...who am I??? lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danyel Dille Casselman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Very good! Kids loved it and SO much cheaper than buying seven shamrock shakes from McDs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I cut back on the milk to 1/2 Cup for one serving so it wouldn't be too liquidy. I added the green coloring and I thought this made a very tasty shake! Make sure you are conservative with the mint. You can always add more, but you can't take it back if you use too much. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
All we can say is McDonald's move over, we are making our own Shamrock shakes all year long. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I didn't really like the texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lalford68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
The McDonalds clone from on-line is: 2 c. of vanilla ice cream, 1 1/4 c. of milk, 1/4 tsp. of mint extract, and 8 drops of food coloring. When I measured out the ingredients, this came pretty close. I would use regular and not reduced fat ice cream, as this runs on the thin side. I would also add the milk, starting with 1/2 cups, until the desired thickness is achieved. I would add 1 c. or less for more of a milkshake consistency vs. a drink. I did use the mint extract, but now I am thinking I would rather have tried the peppermint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
We had fun making these with my parents, my son and his cousins. We all helped make the shakes, then chose our own toppings (whipped cream, sprinkles, cherries, mini choco chips, etc). Perfect shake as written, didn't need any tweaks. What I personally liked is that we could put these in smaller cups and the serving size was perfect for me. We made 2 batches for 7 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shamrock Shakes

Frozen decadence with vanilla ice cream and mint extract.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States