Joe's Incredible Bacon Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I chopped the cooked bacon and sprinkled over the top the last 10 min. of baking, otherwise I think it would have burned. Served with real cream whipped with sugar and maple flavoring. Rave reviews from those who tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Went into recipe with high hopes. Love Bacon, Love Pumpkin Pie, but mixing the two wasn't my cup of tea....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Meh. We didn't care for this. It wasn't bad, it just wasn't good enough to make again. We did add the whipped topping after the first taste. That helped, but it just wasn't "to die for" like I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Loved this idea! I've had this recipe saved for years and haven't had the crowd to brave making it in case it didn't go over well. Made it this year at Easter, and while there were some afraid to try it, the more adventurous really enjoyed it. I cut the recipe in half to make one pie. I liked the dense filling, with the cream cheese, but I personally found this over-spiced for my tastes. I'll try it again with less pie spices. I did crumble most of the bacon inside the pie before baking, then topped with more crumbled bacon around the edges. Will try again, and serve with maple flavored whipped cream. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Delicious!!!! It was everyone's favorite by far last Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glowbug

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Connellsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was interesting and delicious. Definitely worth it to find maple cured bacon, which isn't the most common type you'll find at the grocery. If I make this again I will use half as much bacon, though -- it was a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by the.rainne
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I cheated (a little). I used the canned pumpkin mix and a frozen pie crust. However, I went all out on the bacon! I bought some fresh bacon from my grocer's meat department and chopped it up into small bits. I cooked it for just a few minutes before I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar all over the bacon bits. I cooked them until they were dark and sticky. I sprinkled the "candied bacon" around the outer edge of the pie then baked it. In hindsight I would have cooked the pie somewhat before adding the bacon to make it more of a topping than part of the pie mixture. My family was apprehensive at first but after one bite they were sold!! I'll be doing this again next year!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Really wonderful. I did not use All Spice (only because I am so not a fan) and I would crisp up Bacon for the top and add when completely done cooking pie. They get too dark for my taste/liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
okay, we just tried it, and it was good!!! (we added cool whip to the top. see below) i followed the recipe exactly (cutting it in half though, for one pie instead of two) except for the pumpkin. i just used 1/4 can of pumpkin instead of cubed pumpkin. we also cut the bacon into bite-sized bits to place in the pie, rather than 7 whole strips. everything else i kept the same, and it turned out yummy. my husband and i both felt it needed to be a bit sweeter though to match the salty bacon. overall the flavor of the pie was more savory, rather than balanced between sweet and savory. we added cool whip to the top and that gave it the right amount of sweetness that it needed before having to tweak the recipe :) overall though, it was good!!! :D very interesting flavor combo and we liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by l337jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Your recipe is now noted on the website Neatorama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stillhungry

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States