Joe's Homemade Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Amazing...really amazing. We used a mixture of morels and oyster mushrooms we picked plus some baby bells and Italian browns from the store. Followed the recipe exactly. Just amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Messman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is a very tasty and easy soup to make. I have a hard time following instructions and this recipe was no exception. I had only 1 lb of mushrooms so I scaled the recipe to fit that. Then I added a few carrots, some celery and a kohlrabi (all chopped) that I found in the fridge. After everything was simmering I felt it needed dome zing so I added a couple big pinches of dried thyme. So I have no idea what the original recipe tasted like but mine came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This soup is fantastic. I made it with button and oyster mushrooms. I also substituted half the milk with half and half. This will be my mushroom soup from this day forward. Thanks Joe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
My first thought on tasting this was that it was lacking something but we enjoyed it. The next day it tasted even better. We scaled this down to 4 servings. The soup takes about a half hour or so to cook rather than the ten minutes it states on the recipe. The next time I fix this I will simmer the onions in the butter for 3 - 5 minutes until tender then add the mushrooms and simmer for another 10 and go on from there. This will be my go to recipe for mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I scaled this down to 4 servings, using a combination of sliced shitake and regular mushrooms. I like things spicy, but this had WAY too much pepper for me. I suppose in anything, it's best to add such things to your own taste preference...add less and more if needed. I used half milk and the rest was half-n-half. A delicious and easy soup, one I'm sure to make again. Dzienkuje, Joe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Used AR's "change servings" feature and scaled this down to 4 servings. Was a little shy on the milk, so I added a bit of heavy cream (maybe 1/4 cup) I had left in the fridge. Used baby bella mushrooms (1 lb), and added a little more flour to reach the mushroom soup consistency I like. I gave the soup a pretty good grind of fresh nutmeg. Although it's a subtle background flavor, I think it's essential and sets this recipe apart from others. This soup is mellow but still rich and has that earthiness that I so love in a good mushroom soup. Not only is this easy to prepare, it's DELICIOUS, and I wouldn't change a thing. Going into my Favorites folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Very good soup that was extremely easy to make. My family loves it so I'll definitely be making this often. I found I had to use a bit more flour, but other than that followed the recipe. Thank you for a new family fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I am obsessed with this soup! I made it at my restaurant and people went nutso for it! Simple ingredients turned into something magnificent. Unless you are feeding a hungry restaurant crowd, I would suggest scaling the recipe back because it makes a large quanirity as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Simple and tasty. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States