Joe's Homemade Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Good job Joe! This was great stuff that Hubs and I thoroughly enjoyed! I added minced garlic to the mushroom onion mix tho’ I’m not sure I’d say it was a critical addition. Only because the milk I used was reduced-fat, I compensated by using equal parts half-and-half and milk to give it a little more richness. Loved the hint of nutmeg– it was a distinct but subtle touch. Mainly because I had them to use, I threw in some fresh chives along with the parsley – I liked the little bite of flavor they added. Had I not added the chives or the garlic, however, I doubt I would have enjoyed this any less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Easy and delicious. I made this overnight in my crockpot. In the morning I froze 2/3 of it and used the rest to slow cook beef stroganoff. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MCM
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Fabulous recipe! I cut the recipe in half except for the flour (I like my soups thick...and honestly would like it thicker) and added garlic but only because my daughter requested Garlic Mushroom Soup. However, garlic is not necessary! I will definitely make this again....and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnneBell9
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Quick and tasty! I followed the instructions and added about a dozen dashes of Franks. Then, just before serving I used my immersion blender for just a few seconds to finely chop some of the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I had mushrooms on hand that we're on the brink of going bad. Once again I turned to AR for suggestions. Like all of the recipes I have saved, I had all of the ingredients for this recipe on hand less the parsley. I was able to have the ingredients, and soup done in approx. 20 minutes. This soup is fabulous. I did not use the sour cream or parsley, and it was still fantastic. Thank you for your submission. This will definetly be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
YUMMY! This was such a simple and quick recipe. The addition of the parsley and nutmeg is what really makes this recipe. I would definitely make this again. I had a small bowl leftover and it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian Li

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Amazing...really amazing. We used a mixture of morels and oyster mushrooms we picked plus some baby bells and Italian browns from the store. Followed the recipe exactly. Just amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Messman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is a very tasty and easy soup to make. I have a hard time following instructions and this recipe was no exception. I had only 1 lb of mushrooms so I scaled the recipe to fit that. Then I added a few carrots, some celery and a kohlrabi (all chopped) that I found in the fridge. After everything was simmering I felt it needed dome zing so I added a couple big pinches of dried thyme. So I have no idea what the original recipe tasted like but mine came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This soup is fantastic. I made it with button and oyster mushrooms. I also substituted half the milk with half and half. This will be my mushroom soup from this day forward. Thanks Joe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ Brewmaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
My first thought on tasting this was that it was lacking something but we enjoyed it. The next day it tasted even better. We scaled this down to 4 servings. The soup takes about a half hour or so to cook rather than the ten minutes it states on the recipe. The next time I fix this I will simmer the onions in the butter for 3 - 5 minutes until tender then add the mushrooms and simmer for another 10 and go on from there. This will be my go to recipe for mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States