Joe's Homemade Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MCM
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Fabulous recipe! I cut the recipe in half except for the flour (I like my soups thick...and honestly would like it thicker) and added garlic but only because my daughter requested Garlic Mushroom Soup. However, garlic is not necessary! I will definitely make this again....and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnneBell9
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Quick and tasty! I followed the instructions and added about a dozen dashes of Franks. Then, just before serving I used my immersion blender for just a few seconds to finely chop some of the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I had mushrooms on hand that we're on the brink of going bad. Once again I turned to AR for suggestions. Like all of the recipes I have saved, I had all of the ingredients for this recipe on hand less the parsley. I was able to have the ingredients, and soup done in approx. 20 minutes. This soup is fabulous. I did not use the sour cream or parsley, and it was still fantastic. Thank you for your submission. This will definetly be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
YUMMY! This was such a simple and quick recipe. The addition of the parsley and nutmeg is what really makes this recipe. I would definitely make this again. I had a small bowl leftover and it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian Li

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Amazing...really amazing. We used a mixture of morels and oyster mushrooms we picked plus some baby bells and Italian browns from the store. Followed the recipe exactly. Just amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Messman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is a very tasty and easy soup to make. I have a hard time following instructions and this recipe was no exception. I had only 1 lb of mushrooms so I scaled the recipe to fit that. Then I added a few carrots, some celery and a kohlrabi (all chopped) that I found in the fridge. After everything was simmering I felt it needed dome zing so I added a couple big pinches of dried thyme. So I have no idea what the original recipe tasted like but mine came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This soup is fantastic. I made it with button and oyster mushrooms. I also substituted half the milk with half and half. This will be my mushroom soup from this day forward. Thanks Joe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ Brewmaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
My first thought on tasting this was that it was lacking something but we enjoyed it. The next day it tasted even better. We scaled this down to 4 servings. The soup takes about a half hour or so to cook rather than the ten minutes it states on the recipe. The next time I fix this I will simmer the onions in the butter for 3 - 5 minutes until tender then add the mushrooms and simmer for another 10 and go on from there. This will be my go to recipe for mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I scaled this down to 4 servings, using a combination of sliced shitake and regular mushrooms. I like things spicy, but this had WAY too much pepper for me. I suppose in anything, it's best to add such things to your own taste preference...add less and more if needed. I used half milk and the rest was half-n-half. A delicious and easy soup, one I'm sure to make again. Dzienkuje, Joe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Used AR's "change servings" feature and scaled this down to 4 servings. Was a little shy on the milk, so I added a bit of heavy cream (maybe 1/4 cup) I had left in the fridge. Used baby bella mushrooms (1 lb), and added a little more flour to reach the mushroom soup consistency I like. I gave the soup a pretty good grind of fresh nutmeg. Although it's a subtle background flavor, I think it's essential and sets this recipe apart from others. This soup is mellow but still rich and has that earthiness that I so love in a good mushroom soup. Not only is this easy to prepare, it's DELICIOUS, and I wouldn't change a thing. Going into my Favorites folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States