Joe's General Tso's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Very good. The only thing different was that I used apple juice and regular vinegar. If you like you sauce to be saucy double or even triple the sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris Emerson
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I haven't tried other recipes yet but this one had ingredients I had on-hand (though I had to sub apple juice for both rice wine and rice vinegar) but the end result was pretty good! I think I need to cook in the oil longer next time but overall it was a great meal and leftovers just as good! Thank's Joe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Emerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I did some research online for substitutes for rice wine, if you don't have rice wine you can use gin instead. I've used it before and it worked pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This tasted ok, but it definitly didn't taste like the take out that we love. The soy sauce taste was overpowering. Not bad for a chicken dinner, but it just wasn't right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Did not taste like general tso's chicken to me.. I will definitely not use this recipe again..but thanks for letting me try it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This recipe was good! I didn't have rice wine and substituted white wine. It turned out fine. I also didn't have small red chilies so I substituted crushed red pepper and sprinkled that in to taste. I did chop one half of a poblano pepper to give the meal a "green" taste and not just heat. Other additions were that that I cut up one large head of broccoli and sauteed that with onion slivers and the poblano pepper in a ginger-based stir fry oil. (The best General Tso's chicken I ever had contained broccoli; the standard recipe is very unhealthy if you make it without vegetables.) When finished, I tossed the whole thing with green onions and sprinkled some chopped peanuts on top. Authentic General Tso? Maybe not. Absolutely delicious? Yes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
It was ok needed more spice I added more whole chilli as well as chilli flakes and used apple juice instead of rice wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karlita C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I like it some, but there are some things that I would mention. First, rice wine. I dunno what it was, so i tried it. Next, soy sauce. I didn't add any of that because my family hates it. We had a great mandarin sauce that I like to put on meatballs and drizzled it with that. Delicious! Last, pepper pods. Not that much flavor. So I rate only 3 stars. Nice try on the recipe, but didn't like the things above. Other than that, an OK recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovecooking!!!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was great, Joe! I prepared the chicken without breading, but the sauce was terrific! Used the chicken and the sauce with some mixed veggies and rice to make a fabulous rice bowl. Thanks for the tip about the gin, too! Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States