Joe's General Tso's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
it was ok, i didn't really get the dried pepper thing. its those pods you get in the mexican food section right? anyways they turned black and there wasn't really any flavor difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
not bad, but I like General Tsao's Chicken II recipe on this site much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayport, New York, USA
Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This was sooooo good!!!! The boys ate it all and said we can make this once a week. Used red pepper flakes instead of The red dried chilies. Soooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
OK but didn't taste much like the General Tso's I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This is REAL good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Audrey
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I added broccoli, peas, and jalapeños for an extra kick, however it did need more sauce. Not sure if it tastes exactly like the restaurant version, but I thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Yes, this was very good!!! Though i have a hard time finding the right ingredients, it came out to be so delicious. No more Chinese takeout. It was easy to make too. Somebody read my review, is there a way to make the chicken crispier without overdrying. Please advise. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This recipe is just OK as written. It's lacking garlic and ginger. It was delicious with those 2 ingredients added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I've been wanting a really yummy Chinese recipe and am so glad I found this one. Thanks Joe! Love how the rice wine, vinegar, sweetness, and soy sauce come together in this. The sauce is so delicious as it is (but like one of the previous reviews said, I did need to increase the amount of sauce..tried doubling but ended up making quadruple the amount of sauce to fully coat the 1.5 lbs of chicken pieces I fried). I also used a large sweet onion and a green bell diced small instead of green onions and chili peppers. Added a couple teaspoons of red pepper flakes to put the spice back in. One other adjustment...out of habit, I just had to put the cornstarch & egg-coated chicken pieces on a plater of flour for an extra coat of crispy before frying...not sure if that's necessary though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I saw this recipe and it looked appetizing so i decided to make it. And it did not disappoint. My family enjoyed it very much. However I used chicken breast, added fresh ginger and instead of rice wine I used white wine vinegar. It came out great for my taste but like another review stated if you like it more saucey. You have to double or triple sauce ingredients. Thanks for good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States