Joe's General Tso's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe. While it is time consuming, I took the advice of doing the chicken earlier in the afternoon. I used white wine instead of rice wine. I also took the advice to make extra sauce and doubled that part of the recipe - next time I will triple or quadruple it!! I wasn't familiar with the kind of hot peppers used, so I put 1 1/2 Tbsps. of crushed chili into the doubled sauce and it, for us, was the perfect heat. I put one red bell pepper and 2 ribs of celery in, to add some vegetables, and finished with 4 chopped green onions and 1/2 cup of white sesame seeds. This will be made again, and again, and....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
The recipe appealed to me because I had all the ingredients on hand. It tastes OK, but it wasn't what I was expecting. It does not taste like General Tso's at all, and I've made better generic stir-fry sauces. It is not bad, but I don't like it enough to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
OMG!!!!! WE JUST FINISHED OUR DINNER AND OMG! THIS IS THE BEST GENERAL TSO'S CHICKEN!! MY FAMILY ATE IT ALL AND SAID IT WAS BETTER THEN THE ONE WE GET AT THE RESTURANT. THIS IS A KEEPER FOR MY RECIPE BOOK. THANKS JOE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I thought this recipe was excellent. I don't often make Chinese food mainly because it is not my forte. But I have been making it more and more these days. I also did my research about rice wine and I read you can sub out dry sherry or white wine. I made 4 lbs of chicken on Sunday and started making hours before the guests arrived. I did 1 lb at a time and when each batch was done, I put it all into baking dishes and warmed in the oven before we were ready to eat. I was a little concerned how the batter would stand up after a couple of hours but it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
The breading and sauce both came out spectacularly. Initially it looks very much like tempura but, once the sauce is added, it starts looking very familiar. While it didn't taste like take out, I find most low end Chinese food has an oily presence that makes me feel ill. This was not like that at all which allowed me to enjoy the taste much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
We just finished dinner. This was a very good recipe. I added fresh carrots and canned pineapple with the juice too. As someone has mentioned, if you like it saucy, triple the sauce. Also, for kids you should probably add fewer peppers. I think three would be fine. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I like it some, but there are some things that I would mention. First, rice wine. I dunno what it was, so i tried it. Next, soy sauce. I didn't add any of that because my family hates it. We had a great mandarin sauce that I like to put on meatballs and drizzled it with that. Delicious! Last, pepper pods. Not that much flavor. So I rate only 3 stars. Nice try on the recipe, but didn't like the things above. Other than that, an OK recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovecooking!!!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I have made this recipe a few times and my husband and I love it! I have made the recipe as written and at the suggestion of others I used apple juice and white vinegar. Tastewise I prefer to use apple juice and white vinegar. They are also ingredients that I tend to have on hand,which makes the recipe easier. I also triple the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
The taste was fantastic! The recipe actually took longer to make, but only due to my small deep fryer. The sauce was easy and so good, it actually surprised me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Did not taste like general tso's chicken to me.. I will definitely not use this recipe again..but thanks for letting me try it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States