Joe's General Tso's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was great, Joe! I prepared the chicken without breading, but the sauce was terrific! Used the chicken and the sauce with some mixed veggies and rice to make a fabulous rice bowl. Thanks for the tip about the gin, too! Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
It was ok needed more spice I added more whole chilli as well as chilli flakes and used apple juice instead of rice wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karlita C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This recipe was good! I didn't have rice wine and substituted white wine. It turned out fine. I also didn't have small red chilies so I substituted crushed red pepper and sprinkled that in to taste. I did chop one half of a poblano pepper to give the meal a "green" taste and not just heat. Other additions were that that I cut up one large head of broccoli and sauteed that with onion slivers and the poblano pepper in a ginger-based stir fry oil. (The best General Tso's chicken I ever had contained broccoli; the standard recipe is very unhealthy if you make it without vegetables.) When finished, I tossed the whole thing with green onions and sprinkled some chopped peanuts on top. Authentic General Tso? Maybe not. Absolutely delicious? Yes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is a very tasty version of General Tso's Chicken! I cooked in a deep fat fryer, as recommended. I served with Serrano chiles, because my grocery store does not stock dried red pepper pods, and I did not have time to order them. I served it over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTON SCOTT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I did some research online for substitutes for rice wine, if you don't have rice wine you can use gin instead. I've used it before and it worked pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
The recipe was okay, but I don't think it was much like the General Tso's chicken that I usually get as take-out. Maybe that was because I used sherry as I didn't have rice wine? I doubled the recipe and the sauce, but the sauce evaporated away as soon as it hit the hot pan. I'll probably continue to look for a recipe more to my liking for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This is such a great recipe, I have had friends request it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiltcochran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Love this one!! My kids like it because it tastes like take out. I have made it with tofu instead of chicken, and I do't use exactly the same ingredients for the sauce...and it is still amazing. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was great! Flavor was wonderful, not spicy hot but very tasty! Needs a little more sauce to be coated completely but amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBastardos

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States