Joe's General Tso's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chris Emerson
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I haven't tried other recipes yet but this one had ingredients I had on-hand (though I had to sub apple juice for both rice wine and rice vinegar) but the end result was pretty good! I think I need to cook in the oil longer next time but overall it was a great meal and leftovers just as good! Thank's Joe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Emerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Very good. The only thing different was that I used apple juice and regular vinegar. If you like you sauce to be saucy double or even triple the sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This tasted ok, but it definitly didn't taste like the take out that we love. The soy sauce taste was overpowering. Not bad for a chicken dinner, but it just wasn't right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was great! Flavor was wonderful, not spicy hot but very tasty! Needs a little more sauce to be coated completely but amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBastardos

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Love this one!! My kids like it because it tastes like take out. I have made it with tofu instead of chicken, and I do't use exactly the same ingredients for the sauce...and it is still amazing. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This is such a great recipe, I have had friends request it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiltcochran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
The recipe was okay, but I don't think it was much like the General Tso's chicken that I usually get as take-out. Maybe that was because I used sherry as I didn't have rice wine? I doubled the recipe and the sauce, but the sauce evaporated away as soon as it hit the hot pan. I'll probably continue to look for a recipe more to my liking for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I did some research online for substitutes for rice wine, if you don't have rice wine you can use gin instead. I've used it before and it worked pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is a very tasty version of General Tso's Chicken! I cooked in a deep fat fryer, as recommended. I served with Serrano chiles, because my grocery store does not stock dried red pepper pods, and I did not have time to order them. I served it over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTON SCOTT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States