Joe's Favorite Hamburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. HOWEVER, I can see why people have commented on it the way they have. When you blend up all the ingredients,it is a lot of liquid to add to just 2 pounds of ground beef. I was having a large party and I added it to 7 POUNDS of ground beef. I let it sit longer in the fridge too. It didn't dilute the flavor and the meat was formed into patties that stuck together just fine. I really didn't even need the bread cumbs, but I added them just as a precaution. Everyone LOVED them. They were juicy and very flavorful. Thanks a lot!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
We made this recipe for a barbeque party we were having. Thank goodness we tried one before we served our guests! The burgers totally fell apart on the grill and made an awful mess! We tried adding more bread crumbs, tried egg, even tried frying, but it was still more like a meatloaf then a burger!! I will never make these again, and even had to make an emergency run to Wal-Mart for more hamburger to serve at our party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This is one of my favorite ways to make burgers. I really like the flavor the steak sauce gives the mixture. I admit that due to some picky eaters at my house I have to make without the vegetables. I suspect they would go a long way to adding to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
We've had this recipe twice. My husband and I think the flavor is great, but we're not too hip on the texture. I usually make four burgers and freeze the second two raw and throw them on the grill when I need them. Both times I have done this we have liked the way the taste and grill up better after they are frozen. Go figure! It's great to have a recipe that's not just plain hamburgers once in a while. I give it a must try, but not a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
There is too much liquid in the recipe for the amount of beef. Thumbs down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Well what can I say. They were good, but there was nothing extra special about these. It was a lot more trouble to make than the reward of the final product. I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
This was too much like meatloaf on a bun. Maybe if you leave out the breadcrumbs they would be better and maybe not fall apart while grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
I just loved these burgers. I also added mushrooms and black olives to the vegetable mixture. Had to increase bread crumbs somewhat, still should use egg to hold together better. You can taste every veg. as if you were eating them seperately, can't wait for my dad to try these he will flip. The veg. mixture when mixed looks like something you would find at a old folks home, had my doubts, but stuck with it. Was quite pleased with end result and you will to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
There is a good bit of liquid in this recipe. That should be apparent to anyone trying it. The bread crumbs are a must because of it. Even with the bread, the meat mixture is very soft. I tossed one burger on the grill to see what would happen. It started to stick and fall apart right away. I ended up grilling these on non-stick foil over high heat. I agree with the reviewer who said these grill better when you begin with frozen patties. Freezing would certainly keep them from falling apart. The flavor of these is good. The texture is different from a plain burger. Don't expect it to be the same and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
tried this recipe over the weekend and followed it to the letter, tasted just like a meatloaf, nothing special to it at all, It stayed together great on the grill , just not the taste I was hoping for. I will not try this recipe again or recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States