Joe's Favorite Hamburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
This was too much like meatloaf on a bun. Maybe if you leave out the breadcrumbs they would be better and maybe not fall apart while grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
We've had this recipe twice. My husband and I think the flavor is great, but we're not too hip on the texture. I usually make four burgers and freeze the second two raw and throw them on the grill when I need them. Both times I have done this we have liked the way the taste and grill up better after they are frozen. Go figure! It's great to have a recipe that's not just plain hamburgers once in a while. I give it a must try, but not a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
I just loved these burgers. I also added mushrooms and black olives to the vegetable mixture. Had to increase bread crumbs somewhat, still should use egg to hold together better. You can taste every veg. as if you were eating them seperately, can't wait for my dad to try these he will flip. The veg. mixture when mixed looks like something you would find at a old folks home, had my doubts, but stuck with it. Was quite pleased with end result and you will to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This is one of my favorite ways to make burgers. I really like the flavor the steak sauce gives the mixture. I admit that due to some picky eaters at my house I have to make without the vegetables. I suspect they would go a long way to adding to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I loved these burgers, but not everyone in my family did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I loved this recipe, but I didn't use as much breadcrumbs. It was delicious. I use this recipe everytime I make hamburgers. I also use it for Meat bourekas. Brown the meat, wrap with small squares of puff pastry and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
We made this recipe for a barbeque party we were having. Thank goodness we tried one before we served our guests! The burgers totally fell apart on the grill and made an awful mess! We tried adding more bread crumbs, tried egg, even tried frying, but it was still more like a meatloaf then a burger!! I will never make these again, and even had to make an emergency run to Wal-Mart for more hamburger to serve at our party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
This burger was OK. A little too "mushy" for me, but I did enjoy having my son and husband eat onion, bell pepper and tomato without them knowing and complaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
This recipe really WAS good but I guess we are not much on green peppers. I agree with TinaGeiger who felt the taste was more of a meatloaf. However, we did not have the opportunity to actually grill these burgers to give them the full treatment. I liked the ingredients overall and will continue to experiement with this base to find what will best suit the tasts of my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
they were so moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States