Joel's Guinness Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I added a tsp of sugar to try to cut the steak sauce "vinegary-ness" but still the sauce was too much. The new york steaks were tender and tasty, but did not use the sauce otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Roux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
because i can't leave a good thing alone, i added sliced onions to this recipe to take it over the top. who can say no to Guinness and steak? delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
nope not for me i would rather make true beef stew and drink some beers lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
It was just ok. I cooked this for myself and 4 guys who love steak and guinness. Not sure what went wrong with it, but it just wasn't that tasty. Followed the recommened cooking times and the steaks were raw, not rare or medium, but raw. Tasted a lot of the steak sauce, and not much of anything else. Probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
YUM YUM YUM! I used a london broil steak, and this was fabulous. In the future, I will add garlic and more salt and pepper. Broiled beautifully. I am giving this a 4 though--we were not huge fans of the sauce. Will stick with A1, if any is used at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paojava

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Yuck! We may have done something wrong with this but the taste was awful; very bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I would suggest if anyone wants to try this add some brown sugar to cut the bitter taste and a little garlic might help also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Wish I had checked reviews before ruining my son's birthday steaks with this stinker. Tasted nothing but wine and steak sauce, and even though I used good rib-eyes and t-bones, steaks were chewy. So disappointing, I wouldn't even know what to change to make improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Sorry but I didn't think this was that great. Perhaps it was my cut of meat -- I used bone-in ribeyes. While the flavor was fine, the ribeyes were not tender. I missed the taste of salt and pepper too. I used Smith and Wolensky Steak Sauce and added minced fresh garlic to the marinade. My husband thought it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Excellent marinade...steaks are juicy, tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States