Joelle's Famous Hot Crab and Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
We made this tonite as an appetizer for dinner. Took the advice of some others and skipped the heavy cream - also skipped the mayo (I just don't really like it). Instead of baking it the whole way, we also microwaved the cream cheese, sour cream, etc together until it was heated through and smooth, then put it in the bread and sprinkled the cheese over it, threw it in the broiler for a few minutes until the cheese got melty and bubbly. MMMMMMM it was good. I looked away, and the whole loaf, bread and all, was gone. Also the store didn't have sourdough, so I used pumpernickle. Easy to make, easy to eat, easy to clean up (ya eat the bowl!) Can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLEMTOO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I started with this recipe, but then veered off a little bit - added an extra half package of cream cheese and sour cream, cut down to about 2/3 cup for the mayo and heavy cream, and used sharp yellow cheddar. I misread the directions the first time and mixed in 2 tablespoons (not teaspoons!) of Old Bay so it was a bit spicy but still good. I've made it once with crab and once with shredded chicken, and it's tasty either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This was a 10 star dish. Served it as an appetizer for Thanksgiving dinner and the whole family dug in. Loved the bread bowl, but was also great with those new scoop style tortilla chips (next time I'll get the reduced salt ones tho'). Definitely a keeper, will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIERRAMUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
What a great recipe....I have a tried many in the past but this one is the winner!! Recipe at first looked long and time consuming but couldn't be easier. I loved this and so did everyone at the party. In fact, it is being requested for another function!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This recipe is a hit! I lightened it up by substituting low fat mayo and Neufchatel cheese for cream cheese. I also doubled the amount of crabmeat (2 lbs). It seemed that it would be too thin with the heavy cream, so I left it out completely. With these changes, I would give the recipe 5 stars, but it definitely needs thinning. Also is served well with club crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
this is a great recipe. It was a hit at the family gathering we just had. I did lighten up the recipe alittle with lowfat sour cream,nonfat cream cheese and light mayo. I also added fresh backfin crabmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
If this receipe could get more than 5 stars, I would give it that much more. I've been making this for ten years now and has made me famous for it. I have friends willing to travel 8000 miles for this one, and I will be making it for Memorial Day weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
A great crowd-pleaser, Joelle! I have served this one at several parties and everyone raves about it. The combination of seasonings really gives the crab flavor and extra zing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I took this dip to a football party, and it was a hit! There was nothing left over. Instead of canned crab meat, I used real crab meat and added just a little more than the recipe called for, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
i made this for xmas party full of brits who never knew crab could be so tasty. being from the mid-atlantic region, i miss having crab dip and crabcakes on every menu! absolutely wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devilsdancefloor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States