Joelle's Famous Hot Crab and Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
We made this tonite as an appetizer for dinner. Took the advice of some others and skipped the heavy cream - also skipped the mayo (I just don't really like it). Instead of baking it the whole way, we also microwaved the cream cheese, sour cream, etc together until it was heated through and smooth, then put it in the bread and sprinkled the cheese over it, threw it in the broiler for a few minutes until the cheese got melty and bubbly. MMMMMMM it was good. I looked away, and the whole loaf, bread and all, was gone. Also the store didn't have sourdough, so I used pumpernickle. Easy to make, easy to eat, easy to clean up (ya eat the bowl!) Can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLEMTOO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This recipe is a hit! I lightened it up by substituting low fat mayo and Neufchatel cheese for cream cheese. I also doubled the amount of crabmeat (2 lbs). It seemed that it would be too thin with the heavy cream, so I left it out completely. With these changes, I would give the recipe 5 stars, but it definitely needs thinning. Also is served well with club crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I took this dip to a football party, and it was a hit! There was nothing left over. Instead of canned crab meat, I used real crab meat and added just a little more than the recipe called for, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I started with this recipe, but then veered off a little bit - added an extra half package of cream cheese and sour cream, cut down to about 2/3 cup for the mayo and heavy cream, and used sharp yellow cheddar. I misread the directions the first time and mixed in 2 tablespoons (not teaspoons!) of Old Bay so it was a bit spicy but still good. I've made it once with crab and once with shredded chicken, and it's tasty either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I have never made anything in my life other than microwave dinners. My friend Joel made an artichoke and crab dip once, and he was going to make another one for our holiday party, but then he couldn't come. He is a lazy guy and didn't send me his recipe, but I found this one among 3 or 4 others on the Internet. I made this with no trouble at all and it was a ROUSING success. Every person who tried it wanted the recipe and could not believe that I made it. I listened to some of the reviews and went a little heavier on the cream cheese and used about 1/2 of the amount of heavy cream.... was excellent! …better than the best crab dip you can get at the best places in Maryland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
i made this for xmas party full of brits who never knew crab could be so tasty. being from the mid-atlantic region, i miss having crab dip and crabcakes on every menu! absolutely wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devilsdancefloor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Great dip! I took it to our happy hour tonight at the clubhouse (Active Adult Community) and everyone loved it! I used the packaged imitation crab (1 lb.) and everything else except the heavy cream, but I mixed in the cheddar cheese and seafood seasoning and just took it in the 9 x 13 baking dish, since I didn't have the sourdough bread. Folks were wanting to eat it with a fork. It was delicious - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Very tasty, brought it to a party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I was disappointed in this recipe. It was too wet and not very flavorful. Would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This is very good, but VERY SOUPY. It falls off the bread!! I use real can crab and double the cream cheese and omit the sour cream. Also, I mix in the cheddar and bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States