Joelle's Famous Hot Crab and Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I tried this for thanksgiveing dinner and it was NOT very good, way to creamy. someone did take it home but i think is was to take the container i put it in home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casco, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was good but not the hit I was expecting it to be for our Christmas party. Real crab would have been better than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I thought it was a bit runny, but re-heated really well. I also thought it was too garlicky (and that's rare for me) so next time I will use less garlic and more artichokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Didn't love this recipe. It would have been better with real crab. It's also a lot of work and the dip at Costco taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Wasn't as good as I thought it would be, kinda tasted like mayo mixed with crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Overall this was very good. It was a little bit to runny for my taste, but we ate it as an open faced sandwich on asiago cheese bread. (VERY GOOD) So I bet if you ate it in the sourdough breadbowl as recommened it would be even better. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I use the lighter cream chesse also as suggested by another reviewer. My guests loved it and even offered to eat only this instead of the steak and shrimp dinner. I would add more fresh crab to thicken it up though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
We made this tonite as an appetizer for dinner. Took the advice of some others and skipped the heavy cream - also skipped the mayo (I just don't really like it). Instead of baking it the whole way, we also microwaved the cream cheese, sour cream, etc together until it was heated through and smooth, then put it in the bread and sprinkled the cheese over it, threw it in the broiler for a few minutes until the cheese got melty and bubbly. MMMMMMM it was good. I looked away, and the whole loaf, bread and all, was gone. Also the store didn't have sourdough, so I used pumpernickle. Easy to make, easy to eat, easy to clean up (ya eat the bowl!) Can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLEMTOO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This recipe is a hit! I lightened it up by substituting low fat mayo and Neufchatel cheese for cream cheese. I also doubled the amount of crabmeat (2 lbs). It seemed that it would be too thin with the heavy cream, so I left it out completely. With these changes, I would give the recipe 5 stars, but it definitely needs thinning. Also is served well with club crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I took this dip to a football party, and it was a hit! There was nothing left over. Instead of canned crab meat, I used real crab meat and added just a little more than the recipe called for, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States