Joelle's Famous Hot Crab and Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was delicious, although I realized after the party that I forgot to add the mayo! I did add a little extra horseradish for more zip and used one 15 oz can of crab clawmeat (from the refrigerated aisle of the store) instead of the small cans of lump meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I made this as an appetizer for Thanksgiving dinner and it was perfect. I wasn't sure if everyone attending would like the artichoke hearts so I left them out. Also, I baked it in a baking dish and then served it with a variety of crackers rather than the hollowed out loaf. Absolutely delicious! It was devoured in a very short time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
The dish wasn’t bad but I would call it good ether. The dip was forgettable and kind of boring. As a Marylander I was disappointed in the flavor.( I don’t like spice but I needed more flavor) I took this dish to a cook out and baked it off in the hostess oven. HUGE fail, it made a mess of her oven. The dip bubbled over. I was disappointed in my choice of recipe. The recipe is also super expensive to make, there is no way that many different kinds of cream and cream products are necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strayredbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Could have been good, too much horse radish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSI5US

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by moody2
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was creamy perfection. I did everything as directed so that must be the key because every one loved it!! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moody2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Ths is the best hot crab dip recipe I have ever made or tried. I use Tony Chackerie cajun spice as I prefer it over the other, but that's just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I really really wanted to love this recipe. I love crab dip and I love artichoke dip, so I figured this couldn't go too wrong. Also, my daughter's name is "Joelle" so I took that as a further omen and made this for Christmas to bring to a friend's house. Way too rich with hardly any crab taste. I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was a great dip. I did skip the heavy cream. Also next time I make this I will add more horseradish. It will add a little more zip, which I would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Made this for a Halloween party, and while tasty, it didn't look all that appealing in the casserole dish. I would definitely go for the bread bowl next time. Was worried the bread bowl would not keep it hot, but it actually tasted fine at room temp. Also the bread will help to keep any extra liquid from puddling-Maybe I didn't drain my crab or artichokes well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBrown
Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
this was fabulous!! (even though i forgot the artichoke, oops!) i added a half cup of tomato sauce, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States